About the Witliff Collections
The Southwestern Writers Collection preserves and exhibits the literary papers and artifacts of the Southwest’s leading authors, screenwriters, and songwriters. Collecting strengths are Literature & Drama, Film & Television, and the Texas Music Collection.
Visiting the Wittliff Collections
The Wittliff Collections are located on the seventh floor of the Alkek Library at Texas State University in San Marcos, Texas.
HOURS are listed here.
Hours vary throughout the year—PLEASE CALL AHEAD: 512.245.2313.
To make an appointment to conduct research in the archives or meet with an archivist, visit the RESEARCH section of our website.
Film + Television Archives
Film + Television Archives
Film and television archives are essential to the Southwestern Writers
Collection, and to a full understanding of the creative depths of this
region. The filmmaking process is documented in several collections
including:
- Robert Benton Papers: Academy Award-winning writer/director of Bonnie and Clyde, Kramer vs. Kramer, Nobody's Fool, Places in the Heart, and others.
- WIlliam Broyles Jr. Papers: Screenwriter of such films as Apollo 13, Cast Away, Jar Head, Polar Express, and creator of the popular television series, China Beach.
- King of the Hill Archive (Dauterive): Emmy Award-winning FOX animated television series co-created by Mike Judge. Collection gifted to the Wittliff through the efforts of writer/producer, Jim Dauterive.
- Lonesome Dove Production Archive: Highly honored CBS miniseries adapted from Larry McMurtry's Pulitzer Prize-winning novel by screenwriter, Bill Wittliff.
- Cormac McCarthy Papers: Pulitzer Prize-winning author whose novels All the Pretty Horses, No Country for Old Men, and The Road have adapted to film. The archive also includes McCarthy's PBS teleplay, The Gardner's Son, and his own unproduced screenplays for Cities of the Plain, No Country for Old Men, and "Whales and Men."
- Sam Shepard Papers: Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright, actor, and screenwriter of such films as Don't come Knocking, Fool for Love, In America, Paris, Texas, and True West.
- Bill Wittliff Papers: Screenwriter of such films as Country, Legends of the Fall, The Perfect Storm, Raggedy Man, Red-Headed Stranger, and the CBS miniseries, Lonesome Dove.
