Skip to main content

Avoiding Plagiarism: Building a Bibliography

This guide was created to explain plagiarism and also provide useful tips on how to avoid plagiarism.

What is a Bibliography?

When you cite your material, you collect the citation information for the sources you have used and list them alphabetically on the last page of your paper. There are two different types of citation lists.

Bibliographies are lists of all the works you consulted to write a paper, even if you did not cite all of them directly in the paper.

Works Cited (other styles may call them References) pages consist of only works you have directly cited.

Using a Citation Manager

Consider using a citation manager instead of typing bibliographies and in-line citations by hand.  It will save you time.

RefWorks and EndNote are citation managers available to the campus community via the Library website that lets you:

  • export citation information from databases
  • import information from other sources
  • organize and generate works cited pages and bibliographies in a variety of styles.

The Library offers RefWorks workshops and EndNote workshops throughout the semester.

Parts of a Citation

What information do you need to write an entry in a bibliography or works cited page? In general, you'll need the following elements:

  • Author name (or names)
  • Title of work (Journal Articles need the title of the article and the Journal name)
  • Date published
  • Volume and issue (if applicable)
  • Occasionally publisher and publishing city
  • Occasionally the name of the database you got it from
  • If it is an online resource, then the web URL and the date accessed

Getting more help...

If you have specific questions about citing your sources, writing tips, or help with editing, you can go to the following places on campus for more assistance.


Student Learning Assistance Center (SLAC)

Get in-person tutoring at the Student Learning Assistance Center, or SLAC, located on the 4th floor of Alkek Library. Check the website for hours and availability. SLAC also maintains a good handout page for quick reference.

Texas State University Writing Center

The Writing Center is located on the first floor of ASB North. You can get help with all types of writing, including papers, essays, and resumes. The Writing Center  offers in-person and online tutoring (check their website for more information).  Round Rock patrons can seek assistance from the Round Rock Writing CenterThe Writing Center also offers survival guide workshops for APA, Chicago/Turabian, and MLA citation styles.