Skip to main content

Genealogy: Print Resources

Genealogy resources

Resources

Since some families have published their histories, use the catalog to search for your family name as a Subject search. County histories can provide additional information about your ancestors. Use the catalog to search for a county name as a Subject search. There are also books about kinds of people and/or times (e.g., Germans in Texas, South Carolinians in the Revolution)

Abridged Compendium of American Genealogy
American and English Genealogies in the Library of Congress
Bibliography of American County Histories
Burke’s Genealogical and Heraldic History of the Landed Gentry,Including American Families with British Ancestry
Burke’s Genealogical and Heraldic History of the Peerage,Barontage, & Knights
Clans and Tartans of Scotland | Contains information on a clan and its history, crests, mottos, tartans (with a color plate of each), etc.
Colonial Families of the Southern States of America | A History and Genealogy of Colonial Families Who Settled in the Colonies prior to the Revolution.
Colonial Families of the United States of America | Gives the history, genealogy, and armorial bearings of colonial families who settled in the American colonies from the time of the settlement of Jamestown, 13th May, 1607, to the Battle of Lexington, 19th April, 1775
Directory of American Libraries with Genealogy or Local History Collections
Encyclopedia of Frontier Biography
Genealogical and Heraldic Dictionary of the Landed Gentry of Great Britain and Ireland
Genealogist’s Guide: An Index to British Pedigrees and Family Histories, 1950-1975
Genealogies Cataloged by the Library of Congress Since 1986
Genealogies in the Library of Congress: A Bibliography
Historical Southern Families
Index to American Genealogies
Kentucky Pioneers and Their Descendants
Old Churches, Ministers, and Families of Virginia
Peerage of England: Genealogical, Biographical, and Historical
Pioneers of Brazos County, Texas, 1800-1850
Royal Heraldry of England
United States Local Histories in the Library of Congress: A Bibliography
United States Local History Catalog
Virginia Heraldica, Being a Registry of Virginia of Gentry Entitled to Coat Armor
With the Makers of San Antonio

Loading