Skip to main content

Genealogy: Web Resources

Genealogy resources

Libraries with Genealolgy Information

Family History Library
The Church of Jesus Christ Latter-Day Saints
120 Suncrest
San Marcos, TX 78666
(512) 353-8672

Houston Public Library | Genealogical Research
Clayton Branch
5300 Caroline
Houston, TX 77004
(713) 524-0101
Genealogy Guide

Library of Congress | Local History and Genealogy Reading Room
Thomas Jefferson Building, Room LJ G42
101 Independence Avenue, S.E.
Washington, D.C. 20540-4660
(202) 707-5537

National Archives and Records Administration
700 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20408
1-800-234-8861

National Archives, Southwest Region
AR, LA, NM, OK, TX
501 West Felix Street
P.O. Box 6216
Fort Worth, TX 76115
(817) 334-5525

National Genealogical Society
4527 17th Street North
Arlington, VA 22207-0052
1-800-473-0060

San Antonio Public Library | Texana Collection
600 Soledad
San Antonio, TX 78205
(210) 207-2500
Family History Genealogy Guide

Texas State Library | Genealogy Resources
1201 Brazos
Austin, TX 78701
(512) 463-5463

Genealogy Websites

Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet is a large categorized and cross-referenced directory of sites useful for genealogical research, with hundreds of thousands of links.

US Genweb Project offers free genealogy websites for genealogical research in every county and every state of the United States. Organization is by county and state, and this website provides you with links to all the state genealogy websites which, in turn, provide gateways to the counties.

Rootsweb.com a free genealogy website with good information of how to begin your family research. It also includes links to the Social Security Death Index, message boards, archives, and more. Rootsweb is sponsored by Ancestry.com which is not free.

Librarian's Index to the Internet Genealogy Links is a list of Genealogy Websites indexed by the lii.org.

USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project is a website is a registry of tombstones in cemetaries across the United States created by volunteers. Registry is first arranged by state, then by county, and then lists the cemetaries of the county. Not all cemetaries have been transcribed, but is a useful resource to get family names, birth and death dates.

Family Search.org is a genealogy website sponsored by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Access to the information is free. Includes other resources such as tips on getting started, links to vital records, census collections, and other free online resources.