Search for Books & More in the Library:
Use the Library Catalog to search for print resources, multimedia resources, and ebooks. The Library Catalog also provides location and availability details. Use quotation marks for "phrase searching"
Books that have testing instruments have been traced in the Catalog with the phrase Testing Collection and primarily lists the books in the bibliographies for the SDSU Test Finder and UT-Arlington Test Finder databases.
Books can be searched by similar General headings or by Specific Tests, Groups of People, or Characteristics and Traits
There are several General subject headings which cover materials related to psychological tests and measures, the most common of which are listed here. Many of these subject headings have lists of related terms: browse through these "Related Subjects" references to locate additional search terms.
Some Restricted Testing Kits are kept maintained as a Secured Collections at Alkek and Closed Collections at RRC.
- Achievement Tests
- Attitude (Psychology) -- Testing
- Behavioral Assessment
- Educational Tests and Measurements
- Intelligence Tests
- Motivation (Psychology)
- Neuropsychological Tests
- Occupational Aptitude Tests
- Personality Assessment
- Personality Tests
- Psychodiagnostics
- Psychological tests
- Psychological Tests for Children
- Psychometrics
You can also search by groups of people, e.g.:
Characteristic or personality trait, e.g.:
Test Compilations
- Communication Research Measures: A SourcebookThis sourcebook brings together a variety of scales that measure a number of important communication constructs. The scales presented are drawn from areas of interpersonal, mass, organizational, and instructional communication--areas in which the use of formal, quantitative scales is particularly well developed.
- Compendium of Neuropsychological Tests: Administration, Norms, and CommentaryA comprehensive sourcebook for critical reviews of major neuropsychological assessment tools for the use by practicing clinicians and researchers. Written in an comprehensive, easy-to-read reference format, and based on exhaustive review of research literature in neuropsychology, neurology, psychology, and related disciplines, the book covers topics such as basic aspects of neuropsychological assessment as well as the theoretical background, norms, and the utility, reliability, and validity of neuropsychological tests.
- Compendium of Quality of Life InstrumentsThe Compendium contains over 150 tried and tested existing Quality of Life Instruments from around the world covering a wide range of disorders. It is divided into four parts to ensure easy access to the required instruments: (1) General section containing non-disease specific quality of life questionnaires (2) Disease or disorder specific questionnaires, from Anxiety and Depression through HIV/AIDS to Respiratory Diseases (3) Specific group section devoted to Caregivers, Children, Elderly, Women (4) Economic specific quality of life indices.
- Family Measurement Techniques: Abstracts of Published Instruments, 1935-1974Describes 813 techniques specifically concerned with family roles. Descriptive entries include uncritical abstracts, sources, variables, references, and sample items. Critical reviews of similar tests published after 1974 are available in the Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques.
- Handbook of Family Measurement TechniquesThis 3 volume set includes abstracts of over 1300 family measurement instruments cited in the published literature 1929-1996, as well as the full reproduction of over 160 along with their scoring instructions. These abstracts are preceded by overviews, written by authorities in family studies that organize and review the instruments in each chapter. Author, instrument title, and subject indexes make this set easily searchable.
- Handbook of Sexuality-related MeasuresIncludes published and unpublished measures, organized by topics such as abuse, STDs, and body image. Entries often include reproductions of the entire test or sample questions, as well as descriptions, scoring details, reliability and validity data, and references.
- Measures of Personality and Social Psychological AttitudesLists brief descriptions of tests, their purposes, past population samples, validity and reliability information, and lists of references. Includes sample questions from, or copies of, measures and scoring instructions.
- Measures for Clinical Practice: A SourcebookProvides descriptions and reproductions of measures used in clinical practice. The two-volume work includes sections on instruments for couples, families, children, and adults.
- Measures for Psychological Assessment: A Guide to 3,000 Original Sources and Their ApplicationsProvides an annotated bibliography of experimental unpublished mental health measures which first appeared in journal articles or other publications. Its main use is for locating tests which appeared in the literature during the 1960s and early 70s. Provides author, test title, and basic bibliographic information.
- Mirrors for Behavior III: An Anthology of Observation InstrumentsIncludes a total of 178 observational instruments, describing communication in learning environments and group dynamics.