Skip to main content

PACE Career Guide: Finding Articles & Books

This guide outlines specific search strategies and library resources to assist students in exploring careers to support the Personalized Academic Career Exploration for incoming freshmen.

Reference Books

Reference Material

There are many career books devoted to specific majors. Try a keyword search using your major and career or reference. You may also try searching Alkek Library Research Guides for resources specific to a major or subject area. for You can see the diversity of our resume books in this search.

American Salaries and Wages Survey — Reference Desk HD4973.A67

200 Best Jobs for College Graduates — Ref HF5381.F4563

The Big Book of Jobs — Ref HF5382.5.U5 B54

The Career Guide: Dun's Employment Opportunities Directory — Ref HF5382.5.U5

Career Information Center — Ref HF5382.5.U5 C32

College Majors Handbook with Real Career Paths and Payoffs — Ref HF5382.5.U5 F644

Ferguson Career Resource Guide to Internships and Summer Jobs — Ref HD4885.U5 F47.I58 T87

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance — R

Great Jobs for Liberal Arts Majors — Ref HF5382.5.U5 C252

How to Get Teaching Job You Want — Ref LB1780.F53 2004

Job Hunter's Sourcebook — Ref HF5382.75.U6 J63

Job Opportunities in Business — Ref HF5382.5.U5 B88

Knock 'Em Dead — 5th floor HF5549.5.I6 K57

National Jobbank — Ref HF5382.5.U5 N34 2009

Occupational Outlook Handbook

O*Net Dictionary of Occupational Titles

FIND A BOOK, VIDEOS AND MORE

Here are some more links to the library catalog to content on the following topics:

WHAT SHOULD I DO?

ONLINE VIDEOS ABOUT DIFFERENT CAREERS AND WORK

VIDEOS WITH CAREER ADVICE

JOB HUNTING

New Career Guides Collection

To help support the PACE initiative, we have created a Career Guides Collection. This Collection is located on the 3rd floor of  Alkek Library. The Collection is a compilation of books which discuss career choices, resume tips, how to hunt for jobs, interview skills, and other options which can help you decide where to go from here.

Feel free to come in and use the collection whenever you need to. To find out what titles we have you can search “Career Guides Collection” in our Library Catalog. Good hunting!

Career Guides Collection

 

How to Search for eBooks in the Library Catalog

Search the library catalog to search the main collection for print resources and ebooks.

 

 
Try this link for all of our books dealing with "job-hunting."

This short video shows you how to search just for eBooks in the Alkek Library catalog.

Career eBook Resources

Alkek Library has a collection of eBooks accessible from the Library Catalog and from our new discovery tool.

Use the Library Catalog to search the main collection for ebooks. Here is a link for e-books dealing with careers.

Selected list of eBooks:

BrowZine

BrowZine™ @ Alkek Library!

A browsable newsstand of the library's top journals. Easily find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals directly from your iPad. BrowZine is now available from your library.

Watch the Video Download the App