Skip to main content

Social Work: Websites

Websites

Kids Count Data Center | Access hundreds of measure and statistics of child well-being.

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services oversees the following agencies, among others:

  • Administration for Children & Families (ACF) is responsible for some 60 programs which provide services and assistance to children and families and administers the state-federal welfare program, Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF).
  • Administration on Aging (AOA) supports a nationwide aging network, providing services to the elderly as well as policy leadership on aging issues.
  • Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) supports research designed to improve the outcomes and quality of health care, reduce its costs, address patient safety and medical errors, and broaden access to effective services.
  • Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) (formerly the Health Care Financing Administration) administers the Medicare and Medicaid programs, which provide health care to America's aged and indigent populations. CMS also administers the new Children's Health Insurance Program through approved state plans that cover more than 2.2 million children.
  • Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) helps provide health resources for medically underserved populations. HRSA supports a nationwide network of community and migrant health centers and primary care programs for the homeless and residents of public housing.

PovertyNet | Sponsored by the WorldBank, PovertyNet offers comprehensive coverage, including measurements, trends, and strategies to reduce poverty. Special sections address the intersection of poverty with culture and health. Includes the Poverty Monitoring database and an online library.

Brookings Institution: Welfare Reform and Beyond Initiative | The objectives of this initiative are to synthesize current research on welfare reform, making it available to policymakers and the public, and to encourage the development and discussion of new policy options for low-income families, with a special focus on policies that encourage work by and raise incomes for the "working poor."

Child Poverty Facts | A series of reports from the National Center for Children in Poverty, Mailman School of Public Health of Columbia University, New York.

ChildStats.gov | The Official Web Site of the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics.

Child Trends DataBank | Features up-to-date data and research on over 70 indicators of child and youth well-being, with new indicators added each month.

Child Welfare Information Gateway | Formerly the National Clearinghouse on Child Abuse and Neglect Information and the National Adoption Information Clearinghouse, Child Welfare Information Gateway provides access to information and resources to help protect children and strengthen families. A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

National Children's Alliance | (NCA) is the national association and accrediting body for Children’s Advocacy Centers (CACs).  Formed in 1988, NCA has been providing support, technical assistance, and quality assurance for CACs, while serving as a voice for abused children.

Urban Institute | A nonprofit policy research organization in Washington, D.C. This page provides access to a number of online health-related press releases, periodicals, and publications.

U.S.Census Bureau: Children | Information about children is available from several data sources

NASW Research Guides | An A-Z list of research guides on various social science topics. Click "Older Research Articles" link at the bottom of page to continue to the rest of the research guide topics available.

Statistical Abstract of the United States | The standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. It is also designed to serve as a guide to other statistical publications and sources, both government and private.

Bibliotherapy

Professional resources can be found in the General Collection on floors 5 and 6.

Juvenile Books below are listed by tab and topic below. Many juvenile bibliotherapy titles can be pulled up via the Library Catalog. Other titles may not say they are "bibliotherapy for children" but may in fact work well for a child in a specific situation or dealing with certain issues.

          
"There are some themes, some subjects, too large for adult fiction; they can only be dealt with adequately in a children's book." —Philip Pullman. 

Games Collection

The Alkek Library has a Games Collection on the 3rd floor.  Many of the games cover the content areas but some are also leisure games. Other related games, not pictured below, include Star power, Dixit, First ImpressionsMountaineeringOgres & ElvesLet's Make Pizza,  Ungame.

Toy Collection

Alkek Library has a Toy Collection on the 3rd floor. The material can be checked out and renewed if needed.