Job Web Sites
Publication Opportunities
Cabell's Publishing Opportunities - Research writer's guidelines for submitting articles to major journals in Accounting, Economics & Finance, Management, Marketing, Psychology, and Curriculum & Methods. Includes contact information, manuscript topics, submission guidelines, review process, acceptance rate, & circulation information.
Chronicle of Higher Education current issues and jobs in academe
Citation Analysis Databases Choose a citation analysis database to see the most influential articles in a field.
H-Net - job announcements, opportunities for presentations and publications, discussion list servs.
Ulrichs - Directory of U.S. and international periodicals. No articles, just information about journals. Useful for purchasing periodicals, where periodicals are indexed, & periodical type (such as scholarly, newsletter, newspaper, etc.).
Suggested Books
What to Do
Job Accelerator Database - Personalized, step-by-step job search assistance—from exploring and matching suitable occupations from over 1,000 detailed occupation profiles to finding available jobs. Create professional and effective resumes and cover letters, master interviewing and networking techniques, improve your work skills, and prepare for occupation-related exams.
Onet - research detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers.
Find an Employer
Reference USA - use this database to look up employers.
Here are our books on careers - see especially the guide to jobs in San Antonio and Austin.
You can read the Big Book of Jobs or Job Hunter's Sourcebook.
The first is good for giving you ideas for different careers; the
second can really help you chase down employment leads. They are
located in the reference section (main floor of library).
Getting into Graduate School
Graduate School Information contains information on which schools offer what programs.
Testing Databases take practice tests like the GRE, GMAT and more on line.
Job Interview
Interview Books
Resume Books
