Skip to main content

University History: 1963 Desegregation at SWT

Welcome

Contact Information

University Archives

Alkek Library, Room 580

 

Research by appointment

Monday-Friday 8:00am-5:00pm

 

UnivArchives@txstate.edu

 

The University Archives is located on the 5th floor of the Alkek Library.  Research appointments are generally available Monday through Friday between 8:00am and 5:00pm (excluding holidays and energy conservation days).

 

Research appointments are encouraged to allow time for retrieval of offsite materials and to reserve research space.  Walk-in assistance is dependent on staff and space availability, as researchers with appointments are given priority.

 

For questions, assistance, or to schedule a research appointment, contact UnivArchives@txstate.edu.

    

Images from February 1963

Desegregation at SWT

The history of desegregation at Texas State (then known as Southwest Texas State College) is mentioned in a variety of university publications, but the event was not documented in detail.  The following resources are in the University Archives and are provided here for convenience.  Note that there are no original photographs, sound recordings, or movie/video recordings related to this event.

1963 Articles from the College Star

NOTE: Articles are copyright protected; the copyright remains with the University Star (the successor of the College Star).

1963 Clippings

This assortment of clippings was complied from mulitple sources by someone not affiliated with the University Archives. Articles are presented here for informational and research purposes. 

Some articles have only a date and do not list the newspaper in which they appeared.  Archives staff does not have any way to identify the source of these articles.  Researchers who wish to cite these articles will need to do additional research to determine the title of the newspaper.

NOTE: Remember that newspapers articles are copyright protected.  Copyright for each article resides with the newspaper that published the article. 

State Laws and Constituting Documents

For those looking for state laws and statues regarding higher education and race, these clippings may be useful. 

Scans are provided here for quick historical reference, but if you use this information in your research be sure to cite the original publications.   Each scan includes the title page of the source; the General Laws of Texas and the Civil Statutes of the State of Texas are held in the general collection.

Other Historical Resources

There are a number of other historical resources available beyond the Texas State campus that may be useful when conducting research.  This is a short list of select sites that have information related to Hays County, San Marcos, and our campus.

Sources for Additional Research

The University Archives holds other resources from the 1960s and beyond.  Some of those materials include:

  • Yearbooks and Catalogs
  • President's Reports to the Board of Regents
  • Meeting Minutes, Board of Regents
  • 80.300 LBJ Collection
  • Oral History Collection
  • Building Files
  • General Laws of Texas