Skip to main content

University History: Departmental/Program Histories

Welcome

Contact Information

University Archives

Alkek Library, Room 580

 

Research by appointment

Monday-Friday 8:00am-5:00pm

 

UnivArchives@txstate.edu

 

The University Archives is located on the 5th floor of the Alkek Library.  Research appointments are generally available Monday through Friday between 8:00am and 5:00pm (excluding holidays and energy conservation days).

 

Research appointments are encouraged to allow time for retrieval of offsite materials and to reserve research space.  Walk-in assistance is dependent on staff and space availability, as researchers with appointments are given priority.

 

For questions, assistance, or to schedule a research appointment, contact UnivArchives@txstate.edu.

    

How do I research the history of my department or program?

Few department histories exist in summary form.  Histories of Computer Science (1983), English (1979), Theatre (1972) and the departments within the School of Applied Arts & Technology  (1999) are available online in Digital Collections; additional histories will be added as they are discovered and/or received.  Departments and programs that wish to commemorate milestones and anniversaries are encouraged to start researching well before the date of the celebration because the process can be time-consuming.  University Archives staff will be happy to assist with identifying materials and making them available for use but departments are expected to provide staff or students to perform the actual research.

Where to Begin:

Department/program history can be outlined using university publications.  Course catalogs, Pedagogs, and the Star are all available in the general collection for use during library hours.  Researchers are also welcome to use these publications in the University Archives collection send an e-mail to request a research appointment and reserve reading room space.

Department/Program resources in the University Archives

Archives staff will be happy to work with the researcher(s) to identify other sources of historical information relevant to the research topic.  Keep in mind that the University Archives is relatively new and there are significant gaps in our historical record. 

The University Archives can provide access to any information that was transferred for preservation purposes; however, if no history was transferred, no history exists within the Archives.  To ensure that your department/program history is preserved for future generations, please consult with the University Archivist to plan for the transfer of materials to enrich the historical record.