Regional Resources
There are not many regional directories for NGOs. The following resources are a few of the guides available for locating NGOs in particular countries or regions of the world. Of course, country-based searches are possible with most of the general directories listed on this page as well.
- World Association of Nongovernmental OrganizationsTo explore regional listings of NGOs, navigate to the "Worldwide NGO Directory" and click on a particular world region.
- Africa South of the Sahara: Selected Internet ResourcesA place to look for listings of African organizations, including NGOs. You can search by country, or search a topic by keyword.
- Nongovernmental Organizations in Sub-Saharan AfricaListing of important NGOs in Sub-Saharan Africa by country, with brief overviews of conditions in each country as well. The focus is on human rights issues especially.
- NGOs India : Online Database and Resources of Indian NGOsA very comprehensive directory.
- Non Governmental Organizations in Latin America - LANICA listing by country from the Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC).
- Registry of civil society organizations within the OASRegistry of civil society organizations within the Organization of American States. Includes NGOs in North, Central, and South America, with links and contact information.
- U.S. Private Volunteer Organization RegistryUnited States organizations that operate domestically or abroad. Can be searched by country of activity, area of activity, and name or acronym of organization.
- Palestinean Israeli Peace NGO ForumA list of organizations affiliated with the Palestinian Israeli Peace NGO Forum.
General Resources
- AiDA - knowledge, collaboration, information, partnershipsAllows browsing by country and other criteria in order to find development projects NGOs and IGOs are funding in various nations.
- Committee of Religious NGOs at the UNUnder the "Membership" link in the left side menu bar is a list of member organizations.
- Directory of Development OrganizationsA comprehensive listing of over 53,000 development organizations, arranged by country and covering all world regions.
- Europa World PlusCombines Europa World Year Book and the nine Europa Regional Surveys of the World into one database. Regularly updated economic, political & geographic background information & statistical data by country. Directory contact details & a listing of over 1,900 international organizations (including NGOs)
- Idealist.org: Action Without BordersOn the home page, click on "find" and then "organizations." This takes you to a page for searching NGOs all over the world.
- The NGO Cafe | WWW Virtual Library on Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs)The "NGO Bungee Jumps" link in the left side menu takes you to a list of links to NGO indices and resources.
- TakingITGlobal - OrganizationsThis page allows you to search worldwide listing of organizations by area of activity, country of activity, and primary language of the organization, as well as by keyword.
- Think Tanks and NGOsAn alphabetical listing of "think tanks" (non-profit research institutes) and NGOs around the world, with links.
- UN Office at Geneva, NGOsA directory of NGOs which have consultative status with the Economic and Social Council of the UN (ECOSOC). Can be searched by field of activity, ECOSOC category, or organization name.
- World Association of Non-Governmental OrganizationsNavigate to the "Worldwide NGO Directory," which is organized by region.
Acknowledgement/Copyright
This Texas State University libguide has been adapated from University of Michigan's Global Libguide Under the terms of the Creative Commons License below
Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 license.
