Skip to main content

Roadmap to Research: Hwy 301: Gathering Information

This guide will help you get ready for research, and introduces you to the how-tos of conducting research.

Highway 301

Access databases, journals and other search systems available from the library’s website

Select appropriate databases for your research

Use effective techniques and strategies to improve search results

 

Rest Stop

clipartmojo.com

What do you like most about Alkek Library?

Rest Stop
I can check out up to 100 items: 2 votes (7.14%)
It is a quiet place to study: 12 votes (42.86%)
I can use online databases from anywhere: 8 votes (28.57%)
The friendly staff: 3 votes (10.71%)
The research guides available online: 3 votes (10.71%)
Total Votes: 28

Browse journals

Selecting a Database

When selecting a database for your research project, you may want to consider the following:

  • Read the database description to make sure that the subject areas and date coverage are appropriate.
  • Is full-text availability a priority? Check to make sure the database has full-text.
  • General databases may be a good place to start for less specific searches or background info.
  • Choose a subject database for more specific searches.

Alkek Library also has a variety of subject-specific research guides available that can point you in the right direction for books, databases, periodicals and more resources.


Driver's Ed.- Accessing Databases

Click this image to go to a "Driver's Ed." tutorial.

Driver's Ed.- Searching Techniques

Click this image to go to a "Driver's Ed." tutorial.

Subject Searching