Skip to main content

Refworks@Txstate: Getting Information into RefWorks

Need Help?

Libarians are here to help you make the best use of RefWorks!

Use the box at the right to contact us.  Chat during hours when the reference desk is staffed or click on the image to send us an e-mail or set up an appointment to visit one-on-one with a librarian about RefWorks.

How do I bring my research information into my RefWorks account?

There are five key  ways to build your database in RefWorks:

Converting from another bibliographic management program such as EndNote

Capturing Web Page data

Manually adding references

Retrieving and Importing information from RSS Feeds

Using the online catalog or database search option within RefWorks

We recommend that before you even start creating your database, spend some time thinking about how you want to organize your data. The two most convenient ways to find references quickly are searching and viewing folders. You might want to organize the data by creating folders for specific topics, assigning descriptors (keywords) to references as you add them to the database, or some combination of both. For example, you could create a folder for each class you are taking; e.g., Child Psychology and Business Management. In the first instance you would select View Folder and then the folder name from the View menu to find all references for a particular class (or click on the hyper-linked folder name displayed with a reference from your search results or in the Standard View). If you do not want to set up folders, you could use Child Psychology and Business Management as descriptors to organize the data. In this, you would select By Descriptor from the Search menu option where you can search and locate all references organized by descriptors.  

How you organize, to a large extent, depends on how large you expect the database to be. Using the example above, if you believe that your database will contain many references in both areas and include descriptors such as "training requirements" or "motivation" it is best to set up separate folders. By doing this, you can use Advanced Search to search for the specific descriptor "motivation" in the Child Psychology folder, avoiding any references to Business Management.

Video Tutorial: Adding References to RefWorks Using Direct Export

Video Tutorial: Adding References to RefWorks by Searching Online Catalogs or Databases

Video Tutorial: Adding References to RefWorks by Importing Text Files - PubMed Example

Video Tutorial: Adding References to RefWorks by Manual Entry