Search by keywords and small phrases.
Maximize your keyword searches with Boolean searching:
|internet AND teenagers||all words must appear in the result list|
teenagers OR adolescents
either word may appear in the results.
Obama NOT Barack
must have Obama, but excludes items with Barack
Use "quotation marks" to search for phrases.
Use the database’s "help" feature to find the syntax for advanced searches. This varies by database
Consider truncation. The asterisk (*) symbol is used most often
adolescen* will search for all forms of the root, adolesence, adolescent, adolescents
Try using database Subject or descriptor terms. Those are listed in the database’s thesaurus, or they may be listed near the article abstract. These can be useful for learning the preferred vocabulary of a discipline.
Reference Universe (Paratext)
Search contents of almost every reference work, whether in print or online, in the Texas State Universitity library collection. Searches result in relevant citations to articles and entries contained in various reference works, saving you time in researching each work individually.
Online and print reference work entries and articles.
1985 to present.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCOhost)
|Subjects:||Nursing, health administration, health information management, long term care, health services physical therapy, respiratory care, radiation therapy, communication disorders, clinical laboratory science & other allied health disciplines.|
|Formats:||Many full text articles, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments & clinical trials. Citations to health care books, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, & more.|
|Coverage:||1937 to present.|
|Subjects:||A collection of evidence-based medicine databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Economic Evaluation Database, and The Cochrane Collaboration.|
|Formats:||Full text reviews, abstracts and bibliographies of clinical trials and current methodologies.|
JBI Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation Reports (Joanna Briggs Institute)
|Subjects:||Health and evidence based medicine. The JBI Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation Reports is a refereed, online journal that publishes systematic review protocols and systematic reviews of healthcare research following the JBI methodology. These reviews may be of quantitative or qualitative research data, text and/or opinion, relate to economic data or combinations of the above.|
MEDLINE Complete (EBSCOhost)
|Subjects:||Approximately 4,800 current medical journals from around the world. Citations are included from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, HISTLINE, SPACELINE, PREMEDLINE®, AIDSLINE®, BIOETHICSLINE®, and HealthSTAR. Full text is available for approximately one quarter of the journals.|
|Formats:||Some linked full text.|
|Coverage:||1950 to present.|
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source (EBSCOhost)
|Subjects:||Nursing, allied health, physical therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene, clinical laboratory sciences, and evidence based resources.|
|Formats:||Full-text journals and video training programs.|
(National Library of Medicine)
|Subjects:||PubMed provides all MEDLINE citations plus out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain general science and chemistry journals in MEDLINE; citations that precede MEDLINE indexing; additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMed Central and receive a qualitative review by the National Library of Medicine.|
|Formats:||More than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.|
Health Reference Center (Gale)
|Subjects:||Medicine, nursing, allied and consumer health.|
|Formats:||Many full text articles, reference books, pamphlets, overviews of clinical topics.|
|Coverage:||1980 to present.|
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost)
|Subjects:||Medicine, nursing, allied health, alternative medicine, nutrition, pharmacy. Includes Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.|
|Formats:||Many full text articles.|
|Coverage:||1975 to present.|
|Subjects:||Of interest to nursing, allied health, and health administration students and professionals.|
|Formats:||Collection of over 60 top nursing journals from Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.|
Nursing Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
|Subjects:||Comprehensive reference tool designed to provide relevant clinical resources to nurses and other health care professionals. Includes evidence-based care sheets, best practices guidelines, and continuing education modules.|
|Formats:||Full text journals, books, evidence based care sheets, drug information, legal cases, clinical updates, patient education brochures and research instrument documents.|
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
|Subjects:||Sociology, anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, political science, demography, and social psychology.|
|Formats:||Many full text articles. Citations to books & conference papers.|
|Coverage:||1966 to present, abstracts 1977 to present.|
Start Your Research (EBSCOhost)
|Subjects:||Start Your Research here to search all types of content including articles, books, ebooks, streaming media, dissertations, and more from many different publishers and vendors. This does not search all library databases but it does search many all at once.|
|Formats:||Single search box for multiple databases|
Academic Search (EBSCOhost)
|Subjects:||Multi-subject. Animal science, anthropology, archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, history, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women’s studies, & zoology.|
|Formats:||Many full text articles.|
|Coverage:||1865 to present.
Omnifile Full Text, Mega Edition (EBSCOhost)
|Subjects:||Multi-disciplinary. Education, general and applied science, humanities, business, social sciences, technology, art, biology, agriculture and more.|
|Formats:||Many full text articles and book reviews. Citations to books.|
|Coverage:||Indexing 1982 to present, full text 1994 to present.
DVDs and VHS tapes can also be found by using the library's online catalog.
|Subjects:||Individual modules show the various physical examinations performed in clinical settings and head-to-toe evaluations for various age groups. Patients and examiners represent diversity to provide students with a well-rounded, realistic view of modern clinical settings. Also emphasizes patient communication, health history, documentation and interview techniques.|
|Subjects:||Follow a team of nursing students and their instructor as they perform 90+ nursing procedures in realistic clinical settings. The videos are organized into basic, intermediate, and advanced procedures that enable you to develop and build on a foundation of skills. It's the ideal way to study and prepare for nursing practice, enabling you to actually see how knowledge and skills are translated into nursing practice.|
|Subjects:||Fundamentals of nurse training based on up-to-date best-practice standards from the Joint Commission & AORN and in compliance with OSHA and CMS regulating agencies.|
|Formats:||Medicom Videos accredited by the ANCC|