Skip to main content

Adult, Professional, and Community Education (APCE): Finding Articles

Search Tips

Maximize your keyword searches with Boolean searching.

AND: "adult education" AND programs
OR:  "adult education" OR "adult learning"
NOT: "adult education" NOT "basic education"

Use "quotation marks" to search for whole phrases: "adult education"

Use the database’s built in limiting features. Some databases have a filter for full-text or scholarly journals. 

Consider truncation. The symbol used is usually *.

"ADULT LEARN*" will retrieve: 
adult learningadult learner, adult learners
 

Remember to check database Subject terms for synonym words/phrases.

Periodical List Search

1. Start Your Research on the Library's Homepage can be used to look for the full text of an article by searching the "title of an article" enclosed in "quotation marks":  "developing web-based academic adult education"

2. Periodical List is the search page to use when you need to know if the Library has print and/or online access to a journal.  If the Library does not have print/online access to a journal you need an article from, request a copy of the article via Interlibrary Loan/ILL.

Enter Journal Title:
       

The example below shows that Comparative Education is accessible in print/microform as well as online.  The entry also shows coverage dates to indicate which years are accessible. The Year-Year dates showing after each access option, like ProQuest Education Journals 1997-2000, says our full text access begins with 1997 and ends with 2000 so if you need access to more current content you'd have to use an access option like from Taylor and Francis Social Science and Humanities 1995 to present

► Not every journal is available in both Print/Microform as well as Online ◄

What is Peer Reviewed?

Most libraries subscribe to various types of periodicals, such as scholarly (some of which may be peer-reviewed, blind peer-reviewed, editorial review) popular, or trade publications. Choosing which to use depends on your topic, the type of writing you are doing, your assignment, and the sources your professor wants you to use.  Many databases offer the option to limit to "Scholarly Journals" or "Peer Reviewed".  If you're not sure if a journal is considered scholary/peer-reviewed, check Ulrich's by looking up the title of the journal.

Characteristics of a scholarly journal:
  • Usually reports on research or reviews the literature
  • Language is often technical and specific to the subject
  • Articles will contain a list of references cited in the paper.
  • Authors are usually researchers or experts in their field
  • Has little or no advertising
  • May have charts and graphs
  • Scholarly journals may or may not be peer-reviewed (see below)

What is a peer-reviewed journal?

A scholarly journal is peer-reviewed when mauscripts are sent to experts, sometimes anonymously (blind peer-reviewed), in the related field. They make recommendations to editor for publication, rejection or revision. These journals are generally thought to be of the highest quality.