Skip to main content

Joseph Laycock's Philosophy & Religion classes: Library Guide: Newspapers, Databases & Articles

This research guide is intended for Joseph Laycock's Philosophy & Religion classes

Researching Without a Librarian?

Research Meme

Remember that you can always ask a Librarian for help!

Use the Ask a Librarian service when you have questions about library resources, research assignments or other information. You can also send us an email!

If you'd like to make an individual research appointment with a Librarian, you can submit your request online here: individual research consultations.

Periodical Finder

Periodical Finder

You can search for a specific journal/magazine/newspaper using Periodical Finder as well as browsing by subject area.

You can search by journal title, subject or ISSN/ISBN.

Newspaper Databases

You can access local, national and international Newspapers through our online databases.

 

When to use Research Databases

Once you've determined some keywords and phrases related to your topic, it's time to visit our research databases!

Browse our Philosophy Journals

General Research Databases

If you're not looking for a specific academic journal, you can search for your topic in these multi-disciplinary databases. They pull together content from a variety of subjects and usually contain a lot of full-text articles. This is a great place to start your research when you need a scholarly article on your topic.

You can view our databases by subject, type (images, news, streaming, reference, and more!), or alphabetically (if you know which database you want).

Suggested Databases for Religion & Philosophy

These resources can be found on the Library Home Page through the Research Databases and then under the Philosophy databases on that page. If you are not in the library you will be prompted for your Texas State username and password.