Skip to main content

REL3370: Myth and Cosmology Research Guide: Gathering Background Info

This research guide is intended for Dr. Mikles' Religion Class

Tips for Success

Gathering background information, getting a general overview, and building context for your topic are some of the first steps to doing research. You may also pick up related terms, concepts, and synonyms you can use in your searching.

Some good places to look for background information are:

  • Encyclopedias
  • Basic books (handbooks, possibly textbooks)
  • Web sites
  • Newspapers
  • Magazines



 

Reference Universe

reference universeBegin searching for background information by using Reference Universe. This resource indexes both print and online reference material available at Alkek Library.

Type in  your search terms here:

Enter your search terms:

Becoming Familiar with Your Topic

The following databases focus on current issues and trends in various disciplines. They usually provide information such as current situation of the topic, chronology, and opposing viewpoints. They are helpful when beginning to research a topic that you are not familiar with or if you want to know more about what both sides are saying.   Sometimes, the articles are on broad topics, but may still be helpfult in gaining context regarding issues.

CQ Researcher

In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, economy, and global affairs. Reports include an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Current social issues presented in topic pages with a variety of data on differing points of view.

Points of View Reference Center

Multiple sides of current issues, such as Iraq or stem cell research, for debates and position papers. Each topic features an overview/objective background , point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Contains leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents (such as testimonies to congress) & reference books. Includes "How to" section for writing.

Other Reference Resources

SAGE eReference

A collection of onine reference material that covers sociology, social work, multicultural and gender studies,political science, psychology, anthropology, criminal justice, health & medicine. Main page allows for searching across all titles and subjects in the collection.


Credo Reference 

Alkek reference source for ideas on keywords and background information. Has images and concept/mind map too.