Reading for Background
Okay, you have a topic. Now what? Learn everything you can!
Gathering background information on a person or learning the history of an association or cultural event will help you create a better story. You will be able to ask more informed questions of your sources, understand the context of what/who you are reporting on, and be a more informed citizen.
Depending on your topic you may need to delve deep into county records, submit an open records request, or simply read a few articles to become better informed. Give yourself time to brainstorm the different avenues you could pursue.
This page provides specific databases that may help you in your research. Not finding what you're looking for? Search Research Databases for additional options.
Start your research
- Start Your Research This link opens in a new window
Search multiple databases and different types of content together. Databases searched include the library's catalog, Texas State Digital Collections repository, and many but not all Texas State licensed databases.
This database (located on the main library website in the large search box) combines the library catalog with several of the most commonly used databases. This search is provided by EBSCO and serves as an efficient starting place for research. If your search results are not as relevant to your topic as you would like, try utilizing specific Research Databases.
Full Text Finder locates the full text of an article by checking other databases besides the one you are currently searching. Some students assume this means Alkek Library does not have access to an article. That is not true. If you get taken to a page without the full-text, follow the directives on the page to try a different way to access the article.
Biographies
- Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Information about people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines. Dates vary.
Public Opinion Polls
Journalist's Toolbox
- Journalist's Toolbox
HIGHLY RECOMMEND: Compiled list of resources for everything from data visualization, podcasting, covering the weather, transcription and more. Updated regularly by the Society of Professional Journalists.
News articles
- NewsBank - America's and World News This link opens in a new windowThousands of U.S. and international news sources from around the world. It features most major U.S. news sources, including Texas newspapers, and many local and regional titles. Dates vary by title.
Background on current and hot topics
The following databases focus on current issues and trends in various disciplines. These databases provide articles on broad topics but are helpful in gaining context on particular topics. From there, you can use what you learn to conduct further research.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowReports with overviews, background and timeline of a topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from opposing positions. Topics include health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, economy, and global affairs. 1923 to present.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new windowCurrent social issues presented in topic pages with a variety of data on differing points of view.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOver 600 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries (English and foreign language), thesauri, books of quotations, as well as a range of subject-specific reference books.
