Skip to main content

Drama & Theatre: Home

This subject guide was created to support basic and advanced research in Drama & Theatre Resources at Alkek Library including playscripts, accents & dialects, and media & streaming video.

Library Services

You can use the Ask a Librarian service for questions about library resources, research assignments or other information. We offer Chat, Text, or you can also email a question to us. Turn around for email is quick, usually w/in a few hours or by the next day if sent in after 9pm. 

You can also make an online or face to face appointment with a reference librarian.  Here's more information about  individual research consultations.

 

Log in to ILLiad with your NetID username and password to make an Interlibrary Loan request to borrow items from another library.
This service is free to CURRENTLY enrolled Texas State students and employees. 

Typical turnaround for a book is 2 weeks, and pick up and return is at the 2nd floor Circulation/Reserves desk. 

Turnaround time for articles varies depending on format (hard copy or electronic) but averages 2 to 3 days. Log in to ILLiad to retrieve your electronic article copy.

Faculty & Graduate students can request articles from Alkek's print journal collection sent electronically using ILLiad.

Texshare cards allow you borrowing privileges at many local libraries, including the following participating libraries.

Request a card online through this TexShare Card request form or sign up in person at the Circulation Desk. Materials must be returned to the same library from which they were borrowed.

You can use the Worldcat database to look up items and see which libraries in Texas own them.

Are you in between semesters? You can also get a Texshare card from your local public library. Typically Texshare cards from public libraries are valid for a year.

Faculty Article Delivery Service (FADS) and Graduate Article Delivery Service (GrADS)

Alkek Library now delivers electronic copies of articles from our print journal collection right to your desktop. This service, called Faculty Article Delivery Service or FADS, is available to faculty at either the San Marcos or Round Rock locations. Graduate Article Delivery Service or GrADS, is available to graduate students at either the San Marcos or Round Rock locations.

Here's how to request an article through FADS or GrADS:

Simply use the Interlibrary Loan system to request any print article, by filling out an online loan request using your ILLiad account. The interlibrary loan staff will take your request and either digitize the article on demand if we subscribe to the journal in print OR obtain the article via interlibrary loan (if we do not subscribe to the journal). 
 
You will receive the article in a timely manner via your ILLiad account and can access the digital version on your desktop in your office or home– no more trips to the library to find and copy the article!
 
Please note that articles available in our Research Databases, accessible from the library homepage, are not included in the FADS, GrADS or ILLiad service. The library licenses several thousand full-text e-journals, providing faculty and students with easy access to the journal literature at work and home or on the road. 
 

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the Interlibrary Loan office at 245-4893 or via email.

Use the form below to request a library instruction session for your class. Please fill out a separate form for multiple class sessions.

Scheduling Guidelines & Information

  • Please send your class request at least ONE WEEK before your proposed class time. 
  • Email confirmation for your session will arrive within 24-48 hours.
  • If you don't receive a confirmation, contact Liz Sisemore (eh1093@txstate.edu)
  • The confirmation email will include information about the Alkek classroom where the
    session will be held and the librarian who is assigned to your class.
  • Librarians can travel to your classroom or a campus lab at your request. 

Session Length & Content

  • The librarian working with your class will contact you a few days before the class to
    finalize details and request a copy of the assignment.
  • The librarian will also include a link to an online handout with resources for your class 
    that can be embedded in TRACS.
  • You may also choose to add the librarian's NetID to your TRACS site in the
    "University Librarian" role to assist students should they have research questions.
  • The librarian will prepare a 30-40 minute presentation (depending 
    on the length of your class) to allow for presentation time and hands-on time near the end.
  • Typically there will be a learning activity for students to follow during the presentation.  

 

 

Loading ...

Recommend a Purchase

Newest Theatre & Dance titles at Alkek!

Loading ...

Browzine App for Browsing Academic Journals

Browzine is a way for you to browse online journals from Alkek, create virtual bookshelves with your favorite journals, and access online journal articles from Alkek on your phone or tablet using the Browzine app (iOS, Android, & Kindle). You can also access Browzine on the web.

Featured Resources: Kanopy & Drama Online

 

​Kanopy is like an academic version of Netflix...with plenty (about 10k in all) of independent movies, documentaries, and 319 Criterion Collection films. Check it out here:http://catalog.library.txstate.edu/record=e1000886~S1a or click on the image below. If you are off-campus, you'll just need to log in with your NetID to get in.

And you can watch it on your Roku, iOS, or Android device. 

 

 


Drama Online is a comprehensive database with hundreds of full-text plays combined with critical analysis, contextual information, biographies, and genres. Search for plays by theme, setting, time period or genre. Also includes a Monologue finder and ability to search by number of roles for men and women or unisex. Subscription includes Includes Nick Hern Book collection; and video collections Globe on Screen, Stage on Screen, Maxine Peake as Hamlet, and Patsy Rodenburg acting masterclass. 

Rate this guide!

Did you find this guide helpful? 

If you have specific suggestions, please feel free to add them in the comments below. :)

Rate this guide!
Yes: 0 votes (0%)
No: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0