Skip to main content

HathiTrust: Home

Welcome

There's an Elephant in the Library!

HathiTrust Logo

Hathi (pronounced hah-tee) means elephant in Hindi, symbolizing memory, wisdom, and strength.

These ideals, plus creating a lasting trust for the future, express what HathiTrust stands for and how its members benefit.

Texas State  University joined HathiTrust in May, 2018

HathiTrust Statistics

Currently Digitized
(October 4, 2018)

16,751,398 total volumes
8,129,135 book titles
449,206 serial titles
5,862,989,300 pages
751 terabytes
198 miles
13,611 tons
6,288,161 volumes (~38% of total)
in the public domain

Visualizations of collection by call numbers, languages, and dates

Acknowledgement

Special thanks to-

Billie Peterson-Lugo   Director, Digital Library Services & Systems at Baylor University

For permission to adapt her Libguide for use at Texas State.

 

About HathiTrust

HathiTrust was established in 2008 with the mission to "contribute to the common good by collecting, organizing, preserving, communicating and sharing the record of human knowledge."  The original HathiTrust libraries were partners with Google and/or the Internet Archive for the digitization of books in their collections.  In part, HathiTrust was created so these libraries could work collaboratively to manage, provide access to, and preserve their digital assets in ways that Google could not.  The primary goals of HathiTrust include:

  • Building a reliable and increasingly comprehensive digital archive of library materials converted from print that is co-owned and managed by a number of academic institutions.
  • Improving, dramatically, access to these materials in ways that, first and foremost, meet the needs of the co-owning institutions – i.e. research institutions.
  • Helping preserve these physical materials by creating reliable and accessible electronic representations.
  • Stimulating efforts to coordinate shared storage strategies among libraries, thus reducing long-term capital and operating costs associated with the storage and care of print collections.
  • Creating and sustaining this “public good” in a way that mitigates the problem of "free-riders". 
  • Creating a technical framework that is both responsive to members through the centralized creation of functionality and sufficiently open to the creation of tools and services not created by the central organization.

New content is added to HathiTrust, daily.  At this time, there is no convenient way to see lists of the new content.  However, compressed files of the content that has been added are made available daily, displaying in reverse chronological order.

Additional resources and guides are available from HathiTrust. 

    HathiTrust and Texas State University

    Texas State University joined the HathiTrust in 2018.  As of fall 2018, there are currently over 150 partners in the HathiTrust.  As a HathiTrust partner, enhanced access to HathiTrust is available for Texas State students, faculty, and staff through their Texas State NetID and password. Although this level of access isn’t required to search HathiTrust or view the full text of public domain materials, additional functionality is available to users from partner libraries:

    • The complete PDF of items no longer protected by copyright can be downloaded (non-partners can only download a single page at a time)
    • Collections of items in HathiTrust can be created and saved.

    HathiTrust Law Suit

    In September, 2011, HathiTrust was sued by the Authors Guild and others.  The primary issue that brought about this suit at this time was the Orphan Works Project.  The Association of Research Libraries has produced a document, "Resource Packet on Orphan Works: Legal and Policy Issues for Research Libraries", which provides general "information concerning orphan works, the University of Michigan’s Orphan Works Project, an FAQ, and a legal memorandum by Jonathan Band (policybandwidth) describing the legal issues associated with making orphan works digitally available." 

    The case was finally decided in 2013.    In the end, courts found that Hathi Trust digitization practices fell within the "fair use" provisions of U.S. copyright law. 

    HathiTrust News

    Hathi Trust has monthly newsletters and updates

    Anyone can subscribe to these via e-mail. 

    Updated information is also available on Twitter.