Skip to main content

Daniel Levis Kelter's Senior Seminar in Fiction: Library Guide: Home

Research Guide for Daniel Levis Keltner's Senior Seminar in Fiction

Chat, Email and In-Person Assistance

Ask a librarian chat icon

Use the Ask a Librarian service when you have questions about library resources, research assignments or other information. You can also send us an email!

If you'd like to make an individual research appointment with a Librarian, you can submit your request online here: individual research consultations.

Interlibrary Loan-v

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free lending service available to current Texas State students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that Alkek Library does not own such as journal articles, books, DVDs, CDs—anything you might need for your research.

Use the online Interlibrary Loan request system ILLiad to order your ILL items. Enter as much information as you know about the item you need, and the ILL staff will try to track it down.

Depending on the type of item you're requesting, turnaround times vary—to be safe, plan to wait a few business days for an article and at least a week for a book.

If you need help with making an ILL request or have questions about the process, call the ILL office at 512.245.4893.

How To Use This Guide

This guide provides information and resources that will help you find, evaluate, and cite sources for your academic research. Navigate between pages using the colored tabs above. Below is a brief description of what information you can find on each of the tabs in this guide.

Gathering Background Information

Gathering background information, getting a general overview, and building context for your topic are some of the first steps to doing research. You may also pick up related terms, concepts, and synonyms you can use in your searching. This page will introduce you to some general reference databases as well as some pro/con databases to help you think about your topic in a larger context.

Search Strategies

Start Your Research is a tool that will search the library catalog and selected databases at the same time. On this page, you'll find more information about using the Start Your Research tool and what kind of sources it can help you find, as well as tips for improving your search and getting more useful results.

Internet Searching

For academic research assignments, you will be expected to find credible sources. Internet sources, while popular and easy to find using Google, can be difficult to analyze for credibility. You will need to evaluate any source you find in order to determine if it is current, objective, verifiable, and reliable.

This page contains useful tools to help you evaluate internet resources (or any resources) for credibility, authenticity, reliability and currency. It also contains useful tricks for searching Google for credible information. Keep in mind, information you find using Google is NOT considered academic or scholarly.

Newspapers, Databases & Articles

This page contains information about how to search for published journal articles, as well as other sources contained in databases. You can also find several suggested databases, including core resources for Religion & Philosophy, newspaper databases and other resources to support your research.

Finding Court Cases

This page contains links to databases that you can use to search for court cases, including Supreme Court cases.

Scholarly or Not?

This page contains information about how to determine if a source is a scholarly or popular publication.

Finding books

This page contains information on how to search for books and other materials in the library catalog. You can also learn more about how to use Interlibrary Loan to find materials the library doesn't own. Finally, check out the handy feed showing the newest English materials added to the library collection.

Citing sources

This page contains links to websites that will help you correctly format your citations. It also has some information about using a citation manager, such as Refworks or EndNote. Finally, you can find a variety of options for getting more citation and writing help on campus.

Contact Liz King - Humanities Librarian