Skip to main content
Banner Image

Mobile Research: Services & Info

Information about various mobile versions of research & citation tools, including downloadable apps.

How to use this Subject Guide

This guide was developed to help you conduct your research effectively using a mobile device. We will modify it as new mobile versions become available.

InterLibrary Loan

   


Interlibrary Loan
(ILL) is a
Library lending service available
to current TxState students
and employees. ILL borrows
items from other libraries that
the Alkek Library does not own. Use ILLIAD, the online
interlibrary loan request system,
to order your ILL items.

It is free to use this service.
Typical turnaround for a
book is 1-2 weeks. If articles
are found in electronic
format,requests can be sent
to you via email.

Contact & Pick-up Info:

Items can be picked up at the Circulation Desk on the 2nd
floor of the Library.

Please call 512.245.4893 or
email
with additional
questions.

TexShare

Request a card online through this TexShare Card request form or sign up in person at the Circulation Desk.

  • Texshare cards allow you borrowing privileges at many local libraries, including the following participating libraries
  • All current students and employees are eligible.
  • Cards are valid for an entire semester.
  • Materials must be returned to the same library from which they were borrowed.
  • You are responsible for any charges for lost or damaged materials. 
  • Students that do not return items will have "holds" attached to their records that prevent you from registering for classes, obtain transcripts or grades, etc.
  • For questions about TexShare contact the Circulation desk at 512.245.3681 or via email

Guide to Library Floors (Printable Directory)

 

First Floor (basement level): 

Student lounge and open workstations, Room 100
Instructional Technology offices and classrooms — 512.245.2319

Library rooms 101 & 105/106

Second Floor (Main entrance/exit):  

Circulation / Reserve Desk — 512.245.3681
      Fax machine; Interlibrary Loan pick up; Pick up color printing; Lost & Found; Guard

Research & Information Desk — 512.245.2686
      Computers; Printers; Popular Reading Collection; Open Theater; Café; Scanner; Copier

Associate Vice-President, University Librarian, Room 204 — 512.245.2133

Third Floor:

Periodicals & Media Desk — 512.245.3894

Current and bound periodicals (1960-current); microfilm/microfiche; DVDs; Language Learning CDs;Models; Kits; Graphic Novels; Secured Collections; Juvenile Collection; TCMC K-12 Textbook Collection; Scholastic Guided Reading; Testing Collection; Reference Collection; Career and Business Collections

Research, Instruction & Outreach Department 512.245.3893
University Copyright Office 512.245.1090

Fourth Floor:

Computer Lab and open workstations — 512.245.2106
          Skip the line and print your document from your own device with SendNPrint!
GIS Services 512.245.3216
Government Information Desk — 512.245.3686

Student Learning Assistance Center (SLAC) — 512.245.2515
Collaboration Center 480 a & b (reserve a room)

Fifth, Sixth, & Seventh Floors:

All books; older bounds periodicals dated 1959 and older — (books and periodicals shelved by call number)
   
5th floor (Quiet Study) — (A-J) & University Archives (UnivArchives@txstate.edu)
   
6th floor (Quiet Study) — (K-Q) 
   
7th floor —  (R-Z) & The Wittliff Collections — 512.245.2313

Library Hours — 512.245.2187

  Day of the Week Fall & Spring Summer
  Monday-Wednesday   7:00 am – 3:00 am      7:30 am – 11:00 pm  
  Thursday 7:00 am – 1:00 am   7:30 am – 11:00 pm 
  Friday 7:00 am – 8:00 pm 7:30 am – 5:00 pm
  Saturday   10:00 am – 7:00 pm   11:00 pm – 6:00 pm 
  Sunday   10:00 am – 3:00 am   1:00 pm – 9:00 pm

 * Library Building Hours vary over interim, holidays, final exams. 

Service Point Hours also vary from Library Building Hours: Research & Information Desk, The Wittliff Collections, SLAC, Library Computer Lab, Government Information, Instructional Technologies, RRHEC Library, Schneider Music Library.

Group and individual study rooms are available on 5th, 6th, and 7th floors. Reservable group study rooms are located on the 5th floor.

Photocopiers are located on floors 2 and 3. Copiers accept change only-15 cents per page

FREE scanner station available on Floors 2, 3, and 4 with the capability to save scanned material to a flash drive or send as a PDF email attachment.

Research Services

Research Services
Contact:
Research & Information Desk: 512.245.2686
Ask A Librarian
Website / Blog Page