Skip to main content

PHIL 1305 Resources Guide: Home

Handouts

You can print out these handouts, or just print this whole guide!

Ask A Librarian-v

Use the Ask a Librarian service for questions about library resources, research assignments or other information. We offer chat and text, or you can email your question.

You may also make an online or face-to-face appointment with a subject librarian. Learn more about individual research consultations.

Using This Guide

This guide provides information and resources that will help you find, evaluate, and cite sources for your academic research. Navigate between pages using the colored tabs above. Below is a brief description of what information you can find on each of the tabs in this guide.

Start Your Research

Start Your Research is a tool that will search the library catalog and selected databases, all at the same time. On this page, you'll find more information about using the Start Your Research tool and what kind of sources it can help you find, as well as tips for improving your search and getting more useful results.

Evaluating information

This page reproduces the "Checklist for Evaluating Information Found on the Internet" from your Fundamentals of Human Communication guidebook. It also contains a video that explains a little more about determining the credibility of Internet sources.

Databases & Articles

This page contains information about how to search for published journal articles, as well as other sources contained in databases. You can also find several in-depth lists of suggested databases, including core resources in Communication Studies and other resources to support your presentations.

Finding books

This page contains information on how to search for books and other materials in the library catalog. You can also learn more about how to use Interlibrary Loan to find materials the library doesn't own. Finally, check out the handy feed showing the newest Communication Studies materials added to the library collection.

Citing sources in APA Style

This page contains links to websites that will help you correctly format your citations in APA style. It also has some information about using a citation manager, such as Refworks. Finally, you can find a variety of options for getting more citation and writing help on campus.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free lending service available to current Texas State students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that Alkek Library does not own such as journal articles, books, DVDs, CDs—anything you might need for your research.

Use the online Interlibrary Loan request system ILLiad to order your ILL items. Enter as much information as you know about the item you need, and the ILL staff will try to track it down.

Depending on the type of item you're requesting, turnaround times vary—to be safe, plan to wait a few business days for an article and at least a week for a book.

If you need help with making an ILL request or have questions about the process, call the ILL office at 512.245.4893.

TexShare

Request a TexShare card through this request form or sign up at the Circulation/Reserve Desk on the main floor.

  • Texshare cards allow you borrowing privileges at many local libraries, including the following participating libraries.
  • All current Texas State students and employees are eligible.
  • Cards are valid for 1 long semester.
  • Materials must be returned to the same library from which they were borrowed.
  • You are responsible for any charges for lost or damaged materials. 
  • Students that do not return items will have "holds" placed on their records. This will prevent you from registering for classes, obtaining transcripts or grades, etc.
  • For questions about TexShare contact the Circulation/Reserve Desk at 512.245.3681 or via email.