Welcome!
This guide is to help students in Dr. Balanoff's Certified Public Manager class.
If you need more guidance, you can use the Ask a Librarian service to chat, phone, text, or email questions about library resources, research assignments or other information.
You can also make an online or face to face appointment with a reference librarian. Here's more information about individual research consultations.
Research Worksheet
Fall 2013 Paper Topics
- Social Media
- Geographic Information Systems
- E-Government Systems
- Developing Outstanding PowerPoint Presentations
- Fundamentals of Online Research
- Computer & Internet Security
- Web 2.0
- Ergonomics & Health & Safety Issues
- Developing and Using Online Databases
- Technology Policy Issues (WI-FI, Digital Divide, etc.)
Learn More: Video Introduction to Alkek Library
Guide to Library Floors (Printable Directory)
First Floor (basement level):
Student lounge and email workstations, Room 100
Instructional Technology offices and classrooms — 512.245.2319
Library rooms 101 & 105/106
Second Floor (Main entrance/exit):
Circulation/Course Reserve desk — 512.245.3681
Fax machine; Interlibrary Loan pick up; Lost & Found; Guard
Interlibrary Loan office, Room 213 — 512.245.4893
Research & Information Desk — 512.245.2686
Reference Collection, Leisure Reading Collection
Copyright Office -- 512.245.2288
Associate Vice-President, University Library, Room 204 — 512.245.2133
Periodicals & Media Desk — 512.245.3894
- Current and bound periodicals (1960-current); microfilm/microfiche; DVDs; Language Learning CDs;Models; Kits; VHS; Audiocassettes; Graphic Novels; Secured Collections; Sorenson Video Phone
- Curriculum Materials Center: Juvenile Collection; TCMC K-12 Textbook Collection; Scholastic Guided Reading; Testing Collection
Computer Lab and open workstations — 512.245.2106
Government Information Desk — 512.245.3686
Student Learning Assistance Center (SLAC LAB) — 512.245.2515
Fifth, Sixth, & Seventh Floors:
All books; older bounds periodicals dated 1959 and older — (books and periodicals shelved by call number)
5th floor — Call numbers beginning with (A-J) & University Archives — 512.245.6724
6th floor — Call numbers beginning with (K-Q)
7th floor — Call numbers beginning with (R-Z), The Wittliff Collections — 512.245.2313
Library Hours — 512.245.2187
| Day of the Week |
Fall & Spring | Summer |
| Monday-Wednesday | 7:00am – 3:00am |
7:30am – 10:00pm |
| Thursday | 7:00am – Midnight | 7:30am – 10:00pm |
| Friday | 7:00am – 8:00pm | 7:30am – 5:00pm |
| Saturday | 11:00am – 6:00pm | 11:00pm – 6:00pm |
| Sunday | 12:00pm – 3:00am |
1:00pm – 9:00pm |
* Library Building Hours vary over interim, holidays, final exams, mini-session. Extended Hours run from the third week of classes through the end of the semester.
- Service Point Hours also vary from Library Building Hours: Research & Information Desk, The Wittliff Collections, SLAC, Library Computer Lab, Government Information, Instructional Technologies, RRHEC Library, Schneider Music Library.
- Group and individual study rooms are available on 5th, 6th, and 7th floors.
- Photocopiers are located on floors 2 through 7. Copiers accept change or BobcatBucks. There is also a free scanner station available on Floors 3 and 4 with the capability to save scanned material to a flash drive or send as an email attachment.
