LibGuides: University History: Citing Resources

Citing archival materials used for research

The nature of archival materials is so varied that it is impractical to use a "one rule fits all" approach. It helps to remember that the goal of citing materials is to direct others to your sources.

There is not one standard for citing all materials utilized from the Special Collections and Archives. Please feel free to ask questions about how to cite the materials - we'll be glad to assist you with gathering content for your citation. Be sure to refer to your style guide for specific information about how to organize the content into an appropriate citation.

Books, journals, newspapers, and published materials
While these materials may be located in the archives, you should still cite them just as you would any other book, journal, newspaper, or published material.
Vertical file materials
Vertical files may contain a variety of sources, including interoffice memos, newspaper clippings, brochures, photographs, and handwritten notes. Describe the item by the title (or by the type of material if there is not title), the author (if available), the date (if available), and use the file name as written on the folder and note that it is a vertical file. Be sure to include the repository and institution: Special Collections and Archives, Texas State University.
Processed Materials
Some of collections have been processed by Special Collections and Archives staff and have been assigned unique accession numbers. Cite the accession number and the accession title, and then describe the specific item by title, author, and date. Be sure to include the repository and institution: Special Collections and Archives, Texas State University.

Links to other citation resources

Some universities and archives have written very detailed information about citing archival sources within their particular collections. Check out the following links for suggestions and examples.

As our Special Collections and Archives are growing, some materials are as yet unprocessed but the general guidelines still apply.

Citing Archival Materials - Oberlin College Archives
Writing & Citation Style Guides - Alkek Library, TxState
This general guide to writing and citation style guides contains helpful information.

Potential research topics

There are a number of topics that have yet to be researched and placed within their respective historical contexts. The following subjects are represented in primary resources held by the Special Collections and Archives (but will likely require additional external research to complete the history):

College farm
Campus elementary school
Campus high school