Skip to main content

University History: Photographs

Welcome

Contact Information

University Archives

Alkek Library, Room 580

 

Research by appointment

Monday-Friday 8:00am-5:00pm

 

UnivArchives@txstate.edu

 

The University Archives is located on the 5th floor of the Alkek Library.  Research appointments are generally available Monday through Friday between 8:00am and 5:00pm (excluding holidays and energy conservation days).

 

Research appointments are encouraged to allow time for retrieval of offsite materials and to reserve research space.  Walk-in assistance is dependent on staff and space availability, as researchers with appointments are given priority.

 

For questions, assistance, or to schedule a research appointment, contact UnivArchives@txstate.edu.

    

Looking for photographs of campus?

The photographic history of the university varies depending on topic and time period.  Keep in mind that the University Archives was recently established and many historical images were lost over the course of a century.  The primary sources for photographs are listed below.

Images held by the University Archives

For historical images not found in the Pedagog, please send an e-mail request.  University Archives staff will perform preliminary research for relevant images.  Note that many images, especially those in the negative collection, have only basic descriptions and do not include the names of individual subjects.  The historical negative digitization project will begin in mid-2017, and the images will be posted to our Flickr site.

The University Archives does not have sufficient staff to perform extended research; requesting departments/researchers should be prepared to make appointments to view negatives and/or scans and make decisions about preferred images.

Remember that there are many gaps in our historical record and not all images are part of the University Archives.