Citation Library Terms Q & A
What is a citation?
A citation provides information to reference a published or unpublished work. Using a citation in your research paper lets the reader know that you used information from outside sources in your work. The citation provides information such as the author’s name, publication date, journal title, article title, and page numbers.
When I’m creating my citation page do works cited, references, and bibliography all mean the same thing?
Yes, they are the same thing but it depends on which citation style you are using.
What is a DOI?
DOI stands for Digital Object Identifier. It is a string of numbers, letters and symbols used to permanently identify an article or document and link to it on the web.
What style do I need to use?
Typically....
- AMA is used in medicine and related disciplines.
- ASA is used in sociology.
- APA is used in psychology, education, and other social sciences.
- APSA is used in political science and related disciplines.
- Bluebook is used for law and legal citations.
- MLA is used in English, art, literature, and the humanities.
- Turabian/Chicago is used for history, the arts, and many other disciplines.
- IEEE is used in engineering and other related disciplines.
For more information, you can consult the discipline/style guide listing page from Purdue OWL here.
| If you are unsure which citation style to use, ask your professor. |
Citation Management Tools
Consider using a citation manager instead of typing bibliographies and in-line citations by hand. It will save you time.
EndNote is a citation management software available to the campus community via the Library website that lets you:
- export citation information from databases
- import information from other sources
- organize and generate works cited pages and bibliographies in a variety of styles
- create in-line (or parenthetical) citations in your paper.
The Library offers EndNote workshops throughout the semester.
Database Citation Generators
Some databases have a built in citation generator that you can access from the text or citation of an article. Be sure to double check using your style manual or SLAC handout.
Citation Tip
This very handy button appears on the right side of the screen once you have opened an article in a research database. Click it and citations in various styles will be generated for the article that you have opened. Remember: This is just a starting point for adding the citation to your research paper. Double check the citation for accuracy. There are often mistakes!
eBook and Print MLA Style Guides
Useful Links
Texas State Avoiding Plagiarism Guide
A guide was created to explain plagiarism and also provide useful tips on how to avoid plagiarism.
Texas State Writing Center
We dedicate ourselves to helping all Texas State writers–students, faculty, and staff–develop their writing at any stage of the writing process, in any style guide, and in any discipline.
Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects
Writing & Citation Style Guides
Resources on various citation styles.
Parts of a Citation
REMEMBER: This is a citation for a journal article. If you need to create a works cited entry for any other type of resource, check your Bedford Handbook for more information on what to include.
If you have a citation and need to find the article, start with the yellow journal title section.
Checklist for Avoiding Plagiarism
Are you using:
 |
Your own independent material |
|
Common knowledge |
|
Someone else's own independent materia |
You must acknowledge someone else's material.
Quotations:
|
Do all quotations exactly match their sources? Check! |
|
Have you inserted quotation marks around quotations that are run into your text? |
|
Have you shown omissions with ellipsis marks and additions with brackets? |
|
Does every quotation have a source citation? |
Paraphrases and Summaries:
|
Have you used your own words and sentence structures for every paraphrase and summary? If not, use quotation |
|
Does every paraphrase and summary have a source citation? |
The Web:
|
Have you obtained any necessary permission to use someone else’s material on your Web site? |
Source Citations:
|
Have you acknowledged every use of someone else’s material in the place where you use it? |
|
Does your list of works cited include all the sources you have used? |
Checklist content borrowed from: Fowler, Ramsey H. and Jane I. Aaron. The Little, Brown Handbook. New York:
Pearson Education, Inc., 2004. http://wps.ablongman.com/long_fowler_lbh_9/
University Writing Center Services & Tools
Are you anxious about your essay or new to citations? Book an appointment with a Writing Center Consultant! *Note: After two missed appointments, the scheduling system will block future appointments—more resources for students, such as citation guides and best practices in academic writing available online.
