Skip to main content

Hispanic-American Resources: Home

September 15-October 15 is...

Each year, Americans observe National #LatinxHeritageMonth #HispanicHeritageMonth  from September 15 to October 15, by celebrating the histories, cultures and contributions of American citizens whose ancestors came from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean and Central and South America.  The observation started in 1968 as Hispanic Heritage Week under President Lyndon Johnson and was expanded by President Ronald Reagan in 1988 to cover a 30-day period starting on September 15 and ending on October 15. It was enacted into law on August 17, 1988, on the approval of Public Law 100-402. The day of September 15 is significant because it is the anniversary of independence for Latin American countries Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua. In addition, Mexico and Chile celebrate their independence days on September 16 and September 18, respectively. Also, Columbus Day or Día de la Raza, which is October 12, falls within this 30 day period. 

Image result for globe latin america

2019 Tomás Rivera, Pura Belpré, Américas Award Titles

Dreamers / Yuyi Morales. Alkek Juvenile Collection, Floor 3  PZ7.M7881927 Dr 2018
Dreamers is a celebration of what migrantes bring with them when they leave their homes. It's a story about family. And it's a story to remind us that we are all dreamers, bringing our own gifts wherever we roam. Beautiful and powerful at any time but given particular urgency as the status of our own Dreamers becomes uncertain, this is a story that is both topical and timeless. The lyrical text is complemented by sumptuously detailed illustrations, rich in symbolism. Also included are a brief autobiographical essay about Yuyi's own experience, a list of books that inspired her (and still do), and a description of the beautiful images, textures, and mementos she used to create this book.

Awards:
Américas Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature Award. Commended (2019).
Boston Globe-Horn Book Award Honor: Picture Book (2019).

Charlotte Zolotow Award. Highly Commended (2019).

Flora Stieglitz Straus Award: Younger Readers (2019).

NCSS Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People: (2019).

NCTE Notable Children's Books in the English Language Arts (2019).

New York Times Best Illustrated Children's Books (2018).

Pura Belpré Award Winner: Illustrator (2019).

Tomás Rivera Award Winner: Younger Readers (2019).

They Call Me Güero: A Border Kid's Poems / David Bowles. Alkek Juvenile Collection, Floor 3  PZ7.B67895 They 2018
Twelve-year-old Güero is Mexican American, at home with Spanish or English and on both sides of the river. He's starting 7th grade with a woke English teacher who knows how to make poetry cool. In Spanish, "Güero" is a nickname for guys with pale skin, Latino or Anglo. But make no mistake: our red-headed, freckled hero is puro mexicano, like Canelo Álvarez, the Mexican boxer. Güero is also a nerd--reader, gamer, musician--who runs with a squad of misfits like him, Los Bobbys. Sure, they get in trouble like anybody else, and like other middle-school boys, they discover girls. Watch out for Joanna! She's tough as nails. But trusting in his family's traditions, his accordion and his bookworm squad, he faces seventh grade with book smarts and a big heart. Life is tough for a border kid, but Güero has figured out how to cope. He writes poetry. In Spanish, ""Güero"" is a nickname for guys with pale skin, Latino or Anglo. But make no mistake: our red-headed, freckled hero is puro mexicano, like Canelo Álvarez, the Mexican boxer. Güero is also a nerd--reader, gamer, musician--who runs with a squad of misfits like him, Los Bobbys. Sure, they get in trouble like anybody else, and like other middle-school boys, they discover girls. Watch out for Joanna! She's tough as nails. But trusting in his family's traditions, his accordion and his bookworm squad, he faces seventh grade with book smarts and a big heart. Life is tough for a border kid, but Güero has figured out how to cope. He writes poetry."

Awards:
Américas Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature Award. Commended (2019).
Claudia Lewis Award (2019).

NCTE Notable Verse Novels (2019).
Pura Belpré Award Honor: Author (2019).
Tomás Rivera Award Winner: Older Readers (2019).
Walter Dean Meyers Award Honor: Young Readers (2019).

Islandborn / Junot Díaz ; ill. Leo Espinosa. Alkek Juvenile Collection, Floor 3 PZ7.1.D4988 Isl 2018  
Lola was just a baby when her family left the Island, so when she has to draw it for a school assignment, she asks her family, friends, and neighbors about their memories of her homeland ... and in the process, comes up with a new way of understanding her own heritage.

Awards:
Américas Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature Award Winner (2019).

Pura Belpré Award Honor: Illustrator (2019).

Undocumented: A Worker's Fight / Duncan Tonatiuh. Alkek Juvenile Collection, Floor 3  PZ7.T66414 U53 2018
Undocumented is the story of immigrant workers who have come to the United States without papers. Every day, these men and women join the work force and contribute positively to society. The story is told via the ancient Mixtec codex—accordion fold—format. Juan grew up in Mexico working in the fields to help provide for his family. Struggling for money, Juan crosses over into the United States and becomes an undocumented worker, living in a poor neighborhood, working hard to survive. Though he is able to get a job as a busboy at a restaurant, he is severely undercompensated—he receives less than half of the minimum wage! Risking his boss reporting him to the authorities for not having proper resident papers, Juan risks everything and stands up for himself and the rest of the community.

Awards:
Américas Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature Award Winner (2019).
NCSS Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People: (2019).

The First Rule of Punk / Celia C. Pérez. Alkek Juvenile Collection, Floor 3 PZ7.1.P44747 Fi 2017  
Twelve-year-old María Luisa O'Neill-Morales (who really prefers to be called Malú) reluctantly moves with her Mexican-American mother to Chicago and starts seventh grade with a bang--violating the dress code with her punk rock aesthetic and spurning the middle school's most popular girl in favor of starting a band with a group of like-minded weirdos.

Awards: 
Amelia Bloomer Project. Middle Grade Fiction (2018).
Américas Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature Award. Commended (2018).
Boston Globe-Horn Book Award Honor: Fiction/Poetry (2018).
E.B. White Read-Aloud Award Honor: Middle Reader (2018).
Pura Belpré Award Honor: Author (2018).
Tomás Rivera Award Winner: Older Readers, Middle Grade (2018).

Alma and How She Got Her Name / Martinez-Neal, Juana. Alkek Juvenile Collection, Floor 3 PZ7.1.M373492 Alm 2018

When Alma Sofia Esperanza José Pura Candela asks her father why she has so many names, she hears the story of her name and learns about her grandparents.

Awards:
Américas Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature Award. Commended (2019).
Charlotte Huck Award Recommended (2019).
Ezra Jack Keats Award Honor: New Writer (2019).
NCTE Notable Children's Books in the English Language Arts (2019).
NCSS Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People: (2019).
Randolph Caldecott Award Honor (2019).

Carmela Full of Wishes / Matt de la Peña, ill. Christian Robinson. Alkek Juvenile Collection, Floor 3  PZ7.P3725 Car 2018

Carmela, finally old enough to run errands with her brother, tries to think of the perfect birthday wish, while his wish seems to be that she stayed home.

Awards: 
Américas Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature Award. Commended (2019).
Charlotte Zolotow Award. Highly Commended (2019).
NCSS Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People: (2019).

La Frontera by Alva, Alfredo; Mills, Deborah ; ill. Claudia Navarro. Alkek Juvenile Collection, Floor 3  E184.M5 M54956 2018

Join a young boy and his father on a daring journey from Mexico to Texas to find a new life. They'll need all the resilience and courage they can muster to safely cross the border - la frontera - and to make a home for themselves in a new land.

Awards:
Américas Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature Award. Commended (2019).

The Poet X / Elizabeth Acevedo. Alkek Juvenile Collection, Floor 3  PZ7.A174 Po 2018

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, Xiomara Batista has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking. She pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers--especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about. Mami is determined to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, and Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. When she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she can't stop thinking about performing her poems.

Awards:
Amelia Bloomer Project. Young Adult: Fiction (2019).
Américas Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature Award. Honor (2019).
Boston Globe-Horn Book Award Winner: Fiction/Poetry (2018).
CILIP Carnegie Medal Winner (2019).
Golden Kite Award Honor: Young Adult Fiction (2019).
Lambda Literary Award Children's & Young Adult Finalist (2019).
Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature Award Winner (2019).
National Book Award Winner: Young People's Literature (2018).
Pura Belpré Award Winner: Author (2019).
Walter Dean Meyers Award Winner: Teens (2019).
YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults (2019).
YALSA Top Ten Best Fiction for Young Adults (2019).

Merci Suárez Changes Gears / Meg Medina. Alkek Juvenile Collection, Floor 3  PZ7.M512765 Me 2018

Merci Suárez knew that sixth grade would be different, but she had no idea just how different. For starters, Merci has never been like the other kids at her private school in Florida, because she and her older brother, Roli, are scholarship students. They don't have a big house or a fancy boat, and they have to do extra community service to make up for their free tuition. So when bossy Edna Santos sets her sights on the new boy who happens to be Merci's school-assigned Sunshine Buddy, Merci becomes the target of Edna's jealousy. Things aren't going well at home, either: Merci's grandfather and most trusted ally, Lolo, has been acting strangely lately -- forgetting important things, falling from his bike, and getting angry over nothing. No one in her family will tell Merci what's going on, so she's left to her own worries, while also feeling all on her own at school.

Awards:
Américas Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature Award. Commended (2019).
Charlotte Huck Award Honor (2019).
John Newbery Award Winner (2019).
NCSS Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People: (2019).
NCTE Notable Children's Books in the English Language Arts (2019).

Photographic: The Life of Graciela Iturbide / Quintero, Isabel ; ill. Peña, Zeke. ARC SW & Mexican Photography, TR140.I88 Q56 2018

Born in Mexico City in 1942, Graciela Iturbide wants to be a writer, but her conservative family has a different idea. Although she initially follows their wishes, she soon grows restless. After tragedy strikes, she turns to photography to better understand the world. The photographic journey she embarks on takes her throughout Mexico and around the globe, introducing her to fascinating people and cultures, and eventually bringing her success and fame. With more than two dozen photographs by Iturbide herself, Photographic explores the questions of what it means to become an artist.

Awards:
Amelia Bloomer Project. Young Adult: Nonfiction (2019).
Américas Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature Award. Commended (2019).
Boston Globe-Horn Book Award Winner: Nonfiction (2018).
Note:
Texas Maverick Graphic Novels Reading List, 2019.

When Angels Sing: The Story of Rock Legend Carlos Santana / Michael Mahin ; ill. Jose Ramírez. Alkek Juvenile Collection, Floor 3  ML3930.S26 M34 2018

Carlos Santana loved to listen to his father play el violín. It was a sound that filled the world with magic and love and feeling and healing--a sound that made angels real. Carlos wanted to make angels real, too. So he started playing music. Carlos tried el clarinete and el violín, but there were no angels. Then he picked up la guitarra. He took the soul of the Blues, the brains of Jazz, and the energy of Rock and Roll, and added the slow heat of Afro-Cuban drums and the cilantro-scented sway of the music he'd grown up with in Mexico. There were a lot of bands in San Francisco but none of them sounded like this. Had Carlos finally found the music that would make his angels real?

Awards: 
Américas Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature Award. Commended (2019).
NCSS Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People: (2019).
Pura Belpré Award Honor: Illustrator (2019).
Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal Honor (2019).
Society of Illustrators Original Art Award Winner: Gold (2018).