Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Author's Rights & Publishing Agreements: Texas State University Digital Collections Repository

This workshop will help authors gain information about the rights to their works and what to look for in publishing agreements.

Texas State University Digital Collections Repository

The Digital Collections Repository is a service that provides free and open access to the scholarship and creative works produced and owned by the Texas State University community. The Digital Collections centralizes, preserves, and makes accessible the knowledge generated by the university community, which includes faculty publications, theses & dissertations, plus digitized materials from The Wittliff Collections, the University Archives, and other materials unique to Texas State University. It is a professionally maintained archive that gives the university’s intellectual and creative output increased visibility and accessibility over time.

Communities in Digital Collections can be browsed:

Why should you use Digital Collections?

While publishers may preserve your materials over time, the Library may not be able to afford to pay publishers the price they charge us to provide access to your work. 

In the past the Libraries purchased a copy of your work (books, journal articles, reports, A/V material etc.) and made the commitment to preserve the physical copy. Now, however, the system has evolved and the Library typically licenses access to online content only. That could mean that we may have no retrospective access to the physical copy. 

For that reason, along with other advantages outlined here, please consider the Texas State University’s digital repository, called Digital Collections.