Background Information
Step 3: Going Deeper
Here's where you learn more about your main ideas - those things that might become your dependent and independent variables.
- Search for more information about the main ideas in your Big Picture readings individually using reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc.). Remember: if you can't find information on your exact terms, search what the terms are about.
- Be sure to stay on the lookout for other useful terms/keywords for searching!
See the example below right. Below left are links to psychology reference materials - and below that, hints for how to find more keywords. Other places to look: see the professional websites below the examples.
Note: getting weird results? Try using quotes around the search phrase...or remove them! Depending on where you choose to search, quotes around a search phrase may or may not be helpful.
Psychology Reference Materials
- Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology
- CREDO Reference
- Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural Psychology
- Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology
- Encyclopedia of Perception
- Encyclopedia of Personality and Individual Differences
- Encyclopedia of Psychology and Religion
- Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology
- Encyclopedia of the Mind
- Encyclopedia of the Sciences of Learning
- Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health
- Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
- International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
- International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Sport, Exercise, and Performance Psychology
- Sage Encyclopedia of Abnormal and Clinical Psychology
- Sage Encyclopedia of Criminal Psychology
- Sage Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology
- Sage Encyclopedia of Lifespan Human Development
- Sage Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender
Keywords from Reference Materials
Click around! Under "Information" I found lots of keywords...
Keywords from Websites
Look and click! I was able to find this from the APA...
Going Deeper: Example
Psychology Websites
From the American Psychological Association (APA):
- Topic Guides (scroll down to "All Psychology Topics")
- Particularly Exciting Experiments in Psychology (PEEPs)
From others: