Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CI 5313_CI 5314 Human Growth and Development: Databases

This guide was created for Dr. Langerock's classes CI 5313 and CI 5314.

Introduction

University Libraries subscribes to hundreds of databases.  Listed below are some of the databases more pertinent to your coursework.  To view all of the databases available through the library consult the Databases page on the library web site.

General Databases

Academic Search Ultimate

Multidisciplinary collection of scholarly journals, trade/professional publications, and newspapers. 

BrowZine

Covers every subject. Browse thousands of scholarly journals from Elsevier, Springer, Wiley, Sage, Taylor & Francis and more. Get access on your computer or on your mobile device or phone. Download the mobile app for iPad, iPhone, Google Nexus, Samsung Galaxy Tab and Note, and Kindle Fire HD. Other android devices may also be able to use this app.

Credo Reference

Multi-subject reference works including encyclopedias, dictionaries -- English and foreign language-- thesauri, as well as a range of subject-specific reference books.

JSTOR

Indexes older editions of journals in a wide variety of disciplines.  Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available through JSTOR.  Check the Periodical List for newer issues.

SAGE Knowledge

Full-text online encyclopedias, handbooks, ebooks, and videos on topics such as Sociology, social work, multicultural and gender studies,political science, psychology, anthropology, criminal justice, health & medicine.

 

Other Types of Databases

To find databases that provide information such as:

  • citation analysis
  •  data sets
  • dissertations
  • standardized tests

use the pull down menu under "Browse Databases by Type" on the Database page.

""

Key Education Databases

EDUCATION SOURCE

Scholarly research in education & education-related social issues. All levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, & testing.

EDUCATIONAL ADMINISTRATION ABSTRACTS

Education, educational administration, community development; counseling and guidance programs; curriculum development; educational facilities, parent-school communications; performance and program evaluation; school choice; staff development; target programs for high-risk and special-needs students; and vocational education.

ERIC (EBSCOHOST)

Education journals & documents (research reports, evaluation studies, curriculum guides & lesson plans collected by the U.S. Dept. of Education).

TEACHER REFERENCE CENTER

Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics.

OTHER EDUCATION RESOURCES AVAILABLE THROUGH UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES

 

 

Psychology and Sociology Resources