Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CI 5313_CI 5314 Human Growth and Development: Is it Peer Reviewed?

This guide was created for Dr. Langerock's classes CI 5313 and CI 5314.

What is a Peer-Reviewed journal?

A scholarly journal is peer-reviewed when there is an editorial board that decides which articles should be included for publication. These journals are generally thought to be of the highest quality. To determine if a journal is peer-reviewed, look for an editorial board in the early pages or on the journal's website.

Start Your Research and many databases offer the option to limit to "Scholarly/Academic Journals" or "Peer- Reviewed".  If you're not sure if a journal is considered peer-reviewed, check Ulrich's by looking up the title of the journal.

Quick Tips: Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles using Databases

Watch the following video or review the guide below to learn how to limit your results to articles from peer-reviewed journals in a database. 

The video covers the topic: 

  • How to limit articles to peer-reviewed in a database.

Quick Tips: Check A Journal's Peer-Review Status using Ulrichsweb

Watch the following video or review the guide below to learn how to check the database Ulrichsweb to find out if the journal an article is published in is peer-reviewed.

The video covers the following topic:

  • How to search the database Ulrichsweb to find out if a journal is peer-reviewed.