Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
19th Century Primary Sources
19th Century US Newspapers
Primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. With an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.
Coverage: 19th century
Accessible Archives - Digital Collections
American History. Includes many digital primary source collections of note, including: African American Newspapers, American County Histories to 1900, The Civil War, Frank Leslie's Weekly, Godey’s Lady’s Book, The Liberator, The Pennsylvania Gazette, The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue, The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County, Scenes in the Life of Harriet Tubman, South Carolina Newspapers, and The Virginia Gazette.
Coverage: 18th - 19th century
African American Historical Serials
Religion. This archive was developed in conjunction with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) as part of an effort to preserve endangered serials related to African American religious life and culture. Content was provided by 75 institutions and includes over 170 titles which are unique to this collection.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5
Over eight thousand early American periodicals documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. Subject coverage includes agriculture, applied science & technology, art, business, education, history, music, politics, religion and women's studies.
American Indian Newspapers
A collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada, with more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. The 45 unique titles also include bi-lingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages.
American Periodicals Series
Social Sciences, History, Literature & Language, and The Arts. American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
Secondary Sources (Scholarly Articles)
America: History and Life with Full Text
United States history, Canadian history from prehistoric times to the present. The database covers all key journals in the discipline, state and local history publications, and selected articles from scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities.
Coverage: Indexing from 1895, full text from 1935
Multi-Subject. -- Access begins with the first volume for many journal titles, but usually does not have the newest volumes of each journal.
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.