Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Honors US 1100: Gathering Background Info

Fall 2020, Professor Maureen Lemke

Choosing a Topic is Research!

Credo Reference is a library database that has over 580 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries (English and foreign language), thesauri, and books of quotations.  Credo is like an academic alternative to Wikipedia, and it's online, too.  

Tips for Success

Gathering background information, getting a general overview, and building context for your topic are some of the first steps to doing research. You may also pick up related terms, concepts, and synonyms you can use in your searching.

Some good places to look for background information are:

  • Encyclopedias
  • Basic books (handbooks, possibly textbooks)
  • Web sites
  • Newspapers
  • Magazines



 

Becoming Familiar with Your Topic

The following databases focus on current issues and trends in various disciplines. They usually provide information such as current situation of the topic, chronology, and opposing viewpoints. They are helpful when beginning to research a topic that you are not familiar with or if you want to know more about what both sides are saying.   Sometimes, the articles are on broad topics, but may still be helpfult in gaining context regarding issues.

CQ Researcher

In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, economy, and global affairs. Reports include an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Current social issues presented in topic pages with a variety of data on differing points of view.

Points of View Reference Center

Multiple sides of current issues, such as Iraq or stem cell research, for debates and position papers. Each topic features an overview/objective background , point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Contains leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents (such as testimonies to congress) & reference books. Includes "How to" section for writing.