Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Honors US 1100: Articles & Databases

Fall 2020, Professor Maureen Lemke

Where to Search

Use Research Databases to find articles on your topic.

  • Databases are electronic indexes that provide searchable "lists" of articles that have been published in journals, popular magazines, newspapers, or other items on almost any subject you can think of!

  • Many of the databases contain full text, meaning that the entire article is available in the database, either in PDF or HTML format. Some databases do not contain full text articles. To find the full text of an article, use the Full Text Finder button or check the Periodical List.

  • The library has access to more than 600 databases, and choosing one is the first step for successful searching. You can choose a research database by Subject, by Name, or by Type. Try a database specific to your subject area for more advanced research by using the databases listed under By Subject.

What is Full Text Finder?

Look for a link like this one in the results list:

Full Text Finder is a process that will search all of the library's databases to see if the full text is available.

If the full-text article is available in a different database, the Full Text Finder results page will give you a direct link to it.

If the full-text article is NOT available in any database, you have a couple of options:

  1. First, check the Periodical List—the library may have a print copy of that journal instead of an electronic version. Learn more about requesting access to print journals in this FAQ.
  2. If the library does not own a print copy, request a copy of the article through InterLibrary Loan. Hint: if you use the link to ILLiad on the Full Text Finder results page, it will automatically fill in your request form.

Where can I find the print journal I need?

If you know the journal or other publication you need to find, check the Periodical List to find out how you can access it. You can search by the publication's title or browse by discipline.

When you find the publication you need, you'll see which databases, if any, contain that publication and which publishing dates are covered.

(click on the image to see a larger version)

Which databases should I use?

Find the full list of databases on the Research Databases page. Here are a few suggested databases for typical ENG 1320 assignments:


Multi-Subject: Try these databases as a starting point for your research or if your topic doesn't fit into any one subject.


Pro/Con Issues & Hot Topics: If you're writing about current events or arguing for a particular opinion or viewpoint, search in these databases.


Literature and Languages: Use these databases if you need to do research on literature, film, communications, or a related topic.

How do I evaluate my search results?

Use this list as an evaluation tool to determine if your search results are reliable enough to use. This is just a starting point—you may find more points to consider as you become more comfortable with evaluating your sources.

Currency

  • When was this article or webpage published? Has it been updated since then?
  • Has the author written more recent papers on the same subject?
  • Does this article contain statistics or data? Are more current figures available elsewhere?

Relevance

  • Does the information in this article answer your research question?
  • Does the type of article fit the requirements of your assignment?
  • Is this article appropriate for college-level research?

Authority

  • Who wrote the article?
  • Is the author an expert in the field? What credentials does he or she have to suggest that?
  • Can you find any other resources that cite this article?

Accuracy

  • Does the information in the article fit with what you already know about the subject?
  • Does the article contain references or citations to other resources?

Purpose

  • Does the article seem to be objective, or is there any obvious bias or prejudice?
  • Does the author use emotional language?
  • Is the author writing on behalf of any company or political entity?

The CRAAP test was originally created by librarians at Meriam Library at California State University, Chico.