Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books: Formats and Locations
Books remain the very bedrock of research! The books (and ebooks) listed here are all a part of TXST's Library collection. You can click each listed item to see its full listing in the Library Catalog. Please note that most print books on music topics reside at Alkek (6th floor), but many of our essential reference titles are located in the Schneider's Reference section (naturally)!
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Dictionary for the Modern Trumpet Player by Titles in Dictionaries for the Modern Musician series offer both the novice and the advanced artist key information designed to convey the field of study and performance for a major instrument or instrument class, as well as the workings of musicians in areas from conducting to composing. Unlike other encyclopedic works, contributions to this series focus primarily on the knowledge required by the contemporary musical student or performer. Each dictionary covers topics from instrument parts to playing technique and major works to key figures. A must-have for any musician's personal library Trumpeters today perform a vast repertoire of musical material spanning 500 years, much of it in a variety of styles and even on a number of related instruments. In A Dictionary for the Modern Trumpet Player, scholar and performer, Elisa Koehler has created a key reference work that addresses all of the instruments in the high brass family, providing ready answers to issues that trumpeters, conductors, and musicians commonly--and sometimes not so commonly--encounter. Drawing on a broad range of scholarly sources, A Dictionary for the Modern Trumpet Player includes entries on historic instruments like the cornetto, keyed bugle, and slide trumpet; jazz trumpet techniques; mutes and accessories; and ancient ancestors of the trumpet and related non-Western instruments. In addition to its concise and detailed definitions, this work includes biographies of prominent performers, teachers, instrument makers, and composers of trumpet solo and ensemble literature often omitted from other musical references. Carefully labeled illustrations illuminate the inner workings of various valve mechanisms, allowing readers to visualize the more technical points of high brass instruments. Appendixes include a time line of trumpet history, a survey of valve mechanisms, a list of prominent excerpts from the orchestral and operatic repertoire, and an extensive bibliography. From quick definitions of confusing terms in a musical score to an in-depth overview of trumpet history, A Dictionary for the Modern Trumpet Player is an ideal reference for students, professionals, and music lovers.
Call Number: ML102.T78 K64 2915 (Music Library, Reference)
Publication Date: 2015-03-01
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Brass Instruments (2019)
--coming to the collection soon!
The Trumpet by From the Yale Musical Instrument series. "John Wallace and Alexander McGrattan trace the surprising evolution and colorful performance history of one of the world's oldest instruments. They chart the introduction of the trumpet and its family into art music, and its rise to prominence as a solo instrument, from the Baroque "golden age," through the advent of valved brass instruments in the nineteenth century, and the trumpet's renaissance in the jazz age. The authors offer abundant insights into the trumpet's repertoire, with detailed analyses of works by Haydn, Handel, and Bach, and fresh material on the importance of jazz and influential jazz trumpeters for the reemergence of the trumpet as a solo instrument in classical music today. Wallace and McGrattan draw on deep research, lifetimes of experience in performing and teaching the trumpet in its various forms, and numerous interviews to illuminate the trumpet's history, music, and players. Copiously illustrated with photographs, facsimiles, and music examples throughout, The Trumpet will enlighten and fascinate all performers and enthusiasts" [-Publisher description].
Call Number: (E-book)
Publication Date: 2012-05-15
The World of Jazz Trumpet by An examination of the political, social, and musical conditions that led to the creation of jazz as America's premier art form.
Call Number: ML399 .B379 2005 (Alkek, floor 6)
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
The Last Trumpet: A History of the English Slide Trumpet by The nineteenth-century English slide trumpet was the last trumpet with the traditional sound of the old classic trumpet. The instrument was essentially a natural trumpet to which had been added a movable slide with a return mechanism. It was England's standard orchestral trumpet, despite the dominance of natural and, ultimately, valved instruments elsewhere, and it remained in use by leading English players until the last years of the century. The slide trumpet's dominating role in nineteenth-century English orchestral playing has been well documented, but until now, the use of the instrument in solo and ensemble music has been given only superficial consideration. Art Brownlow's study is a new and thorough assessment of the slide trumpet. It is the first comprehensive examination of the orchestral, ensemble and solo literature written for this instrument. Other topics include the precursors of the nineteenth-century instrument, its initial development and subsequent modifications, its technique, and the slide trumpet's slow decline. Appendices include checklists of English trumpeters and slide trumpetmakers.
Call Number: ML960 .B76 1996 (Alkek, floor 6)
Publication Date: 1998-08-05
Bibliographies and Repertoire Lists
Miles Davis: A Reseaerch and Information Guide by This research and information guide provides a wide range of scholarship on the life, career, and musical legacy of Miles Davis, and is compiled for an interdisciplinary audience of scholars in jazz and popular music, musicology, and cultural studies. It serves as an excellent tool for librarians, researchers, and scholars sorting through the massive amount of material in the field.
Call Number: (E-book)
Publication Date: 2017-08-15
Instruction and Pedagogy
Buzz to Brilliance: A Beginning and Intermediate Guide to Trumpet Playing
--coming to the collection soon!