Background Information
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 600 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries (English and foreign language), thesauri, books of quotations, as well as a range of subject-specific reference books.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Authoritative guide to current scholarship in a variety of subjects with recommendations on the best works available whether it be a book chapter, journal article, website, or data set.
Databases
These databases have articles/reports/documents/statistics... on a wide variety of international places and events-
- Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969 This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents covering events in South and Central America and the Caribbean, from the perspective of the British Foreign and Colonial Offices. Topics include slave trade, territorial disputes, construction of Panama Canal, and the rise to power of populist rulers in Argentina and Brazil. 1833-1969.
- CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Concise and up-to-date country reports on more than 200 countries, each U.S. state, and all Canadian provinces and territories. Delivers an insider's perspective on daily life and culture, customs, and lifestyles.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Descriptive information on cultures and ethnic groups from around the world. eHRAF has a unique classification system which allows for precise culture and subject retrieval.
- OECD.org This link opens in a new window
Statistics measuring productivity and global flows of trade and investment in countries around the world.
- PAIS Index & Archive This link opens in a new windowPAIS Provides perspective on many public and social policies with emphasis on contemporary public issues and the making and evaluating of public policy. International in scope- Includes business, economic & social conditions, public policy, international relations and more.
Some full text articles. Citations to books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, directories, serials, and reports of public, intergovernmental, and private organizations worldwide.
Coverage is 1914-present - Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new windowIndex of scholarly journals and other works on all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. 1934-present.
- United Nations Digital Library This link opens in a new window
An index to documents and publications of the United Nations. 1946-present.
News
- NewsBank - America's and World News This link opens in a new windowThousands of U.S. and international news sources from around the world. It features most major U.S. news sources, including Texas newspapers, and many local and regional titles. Dates vary by title.
- Alternative Press Index & Archive This link opens in a new window
Index to articles in international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Topics include indigenous peoples, LGBTQIA, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. 1969 to present.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
News, culture, and history from 300 publications of ethnic, minority, and native presses. 1990-present.
- AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
Current and historical photographs, audio clips, & news from the Associated Press. Licensed for educational use. 1826 - present
