Finding Books in Civil Engineering
The main call number range for Civil Engineering is TA 1-2040, but there are many other call number ranges that might contain the information you need. See also:
- Highway Engineering (TE)
- Bridge Engineering (TG)
- Building Construction (TH)
- Smart grids (TK 3105)
- City planning (HT 165.5-169.9 & NA 9000-9428)
Architectural Excellence by
A magnificent collection of the world's greatest buildings, ancient and modern. Architectural Excellence is organized chronologically and serves as a visual lesson in architecture through the ages. The buildings featured come from all over the world and include centers of worship, public buildings, places of business and homes. Each building includes a photograph, with a double-page spread for the top 50 selections. Captions provide specifications and brief histories. Beginning with a prehistoric cave dwelling in Turkey and continuing to the 21st century, this magnificent book shows buildings that reflect human imagination, engineering skill and determination. Many are familiar-the Parthenon, St. Basil's Cathedral, Grand Central Station. Others are equally significant but lesser known. Examples include: Great Stupa in Sanchi, India, c. 200 BC, Buddhist Caernarfon Castle in Wales, 1339, Medieval Novodevichi Convent in Moscow, c. 1500, Byzantine /Kievan Zwinger Palace in Dresden, 1722, Rococo Fort Henry in Kingston, Ontario, 1837, Victorian military The Monadnock Building in Chicago, 1891, Richardsonian Courts of Justice in Chandigarh, India, 1956, Modernist Price House in Corona de Mar, California, 1989, Organic Maison Hermes, Flagship Store in Tokyo, 2001, High-tech. Tremendous in its scope, Architectural Excellence is an unmatched resource for architecture professionals and general readers.
Call Number: View onlineISBN: 9781554073580Publication Date: 2008-10-10
Dictionary of Architecture and Construction by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A classic since 1975, the Dictionary of Architecture and Construction is one of the most trusted resources in the AEC community. The Fourth Edition features nearly 25,000 definitions and 2,500 illustrations, making it the most comprehensive dictionary in the industry Updated and expanded, this Fourth Edition of the most trusted reference in architecture offers the most comprehensive coverage of architectural and construction terms available. This classic dictionary now features nearly 25,000 definitions (including 2,800 new terms), 2,500 illustrations (including 200 new illustrations), and maintains its extraordinary visual appeal and easy-to-read page design.Prepared by a renowned architectural editor in association with expert contributors and incorporating the work of many standards groups, the book presents clear, concise definitions of terms in nearly 80 working areas. The Fourth Edition covers new industry terms which have emerged due to changes in engineering and building technologies, organizations, materials, and legal developments, and has been expanded to include more historic architectural styles. New terms include: Legal Architectural Barriers Act Wheelchair Accessible Materials Fibrous Concrete Latex Mortar Polymer-Based Stucco Concrete Compliance Conformity Refractory Mortar Organizations Building Research Establishment (formerly Building Research Station) of Great Britain ASTM Historic Architectural Styles Anglo-Palladianism French Victorian Isabellino Mudajar Mozarabic Neo-Rococo
Call Number: View onlineISBN: 9780071452373Publication Date: 2005-09-05
A Dictionary of Construction, Surveying, and Civil Engineering by
The latest addition to the Oxford Paperback Reference series, this A to Z is the most up-to-date dictionary of building, surveying, and civil engineering terms and definitions available.Written by an experienced team of experts in the respective fields, it covers in over 9,800 entries the key areas of construction technology and practice, civil and construction engineering, construction management techniques and processes, and legal aspects such as contracts and procurement.Illustrations complement entries where necessary and other extra features include a bibliography, appendices providing a list of commonly used conventions, formulae, and symbols, as well as entry-level web links, which are listed and regularly updated on a companion website.Its wide coverage makes it the ideal reference for students of construction and related areas, as well as for professionals in the field.
Call Number: View onlineISBN: 9780199534463Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Transportation by
Viewing transportation through the lens of current social, economic, and policy aspects, this four-volume reference work explores the topic of transportation across multiple disciplines within the social sciences and related areas, including geography, public policy, business, and economics. The book's articles, all written by experts in the field, seek to answer such questions as: What has been the legacy, not just economically but politically and socially as well, of President Eisenhower's modern interstate highway system in America? With that system and the infrastructure that supports it now in a state of decline and decay, what's the best path for the future at a time of enormous fiscal constraints? Should California politicians plunge ahead with plans for a high-speed rail that every expert says-despite the allure-will go largely unused and will never pay back the massive investment while at this very moment potholes go unfilled all across the state? What path is best for emerging countries to keep pace with dramatic economic growth for their part? What are the social and financial costs of gridlock in our cities? Features: Approximately 675 signed articles authored by prominent scholars are arranged in A-to-Z fashion and conclude with Further Readings and cross references. A Chronology helps readers put individual events into historical context; a Reader's Guide organizes entries by broad topical or thematic areas; a detailed index helps users quickly locate entries of most immediate interest; and a Resource Guide provides a list of journals, books, and associations and their websites. While articles were written to avoid jargon as much as possible, a Glossary provides quick definitions of technical terms. To ensure full, well-rounded coverage of the field, the General Editor with expertise in urban planning, public policy, and the environment worked alongside a Consulting Editor with a background in Civil Engineering
Call Number: View onlineISBN: 9781452267791Publication Date: 2014-08-27- The Glossary of the Mapping Sciences by The Glossary of Mapping Sciences, a joint publication of the American Congress on Surveying and Mapping (ACSM), American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ASPRS), and American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), contains approximately 10,000 terms that cover the broad professional areas of surveying, mapping and remote sensing. Based on over 150 sources, this glossary goes through an extensive review process that included individual experts from the related subject fields and a variety of U.S. federal agencies such as the U.S.Geological Survey. This comprehensive review process helped to ensure the accuracy of the document. The Glossary of Mapping Sciences will find widespread use throughout the related professions and serve as a vehicle to standardize the terminology of the mapping sciences.Call Number: TA505 .G57 1994ISBN: 9780784400500Publication Date: 1994-08-01
Interlibrary Loan-v
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ILL is a free lending service available to current Texas State students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that Alkek Library does not own such as journal articles, books, DVDs, CDs—anything you might need for your research.
Use ILLiad, the online Interlibrary Loan request, to order your ILL items. Enter as much information as you know about the item you need, and the ILL staff will try to track it down.
Contact & Pick-up Info: 512.245.4893 or email with additional questions. Items can be picked up at the Ask Alkek Desk on the 2nd floor of the Library.
Other Catalogs
Google Books - Discover thousands of book titles here and see if we own them (note: Google Books does not let you read entire books)
Texshare - Check out a book from almost anywhere in Texas with one of these cards. Click for information.
Worldcat Searches thousands of libraries - built-in interlibrary loan request button allows you to get material we don't own.
What does the catalog record tell you about a resource?
Each item in the library's collection has its own catalog record, like the one below.
Here you can see the item's location and call number and also its status. If it says AVAILABLE, the item should be on the shelf. If the item you're looking at is an electronic resource (such as an ebook or streaming video), you will not see a location or call number. Instead, you'll see a link that reads "View online," which will let you access the resource.
Take a look at the parts of the record that are hyperlinked. If you click on the author's name, you can see what else in the catalog he or she wrote.
The subject terms are useful not only for finding other materials that are closely related to the one you're looking at, but also for suggesting additional search keywords.
If you find a really relevant book in the catalog, look at the subject terms to see if they use different words to describe your topic than you did. Try incorporating those new words in your searches to get a different angle on your research.
Where in the library is my book?
After you've found a book in the catalog, you'll need to find it on the shelf. Each book has a Library of Congress call number that identifies where exactly it's located.
Library of Congress call numbers should be read one line at a time as follows:
Example of a complete call number, DA 36 .A55:
| Line 1 | DA |
| Line 2 | 36 |
| Line 3 | .A55 |
1. First, look at Line 1: |
|
Books are arranged in alphabetical order, by the letters on the first line of the call number. Example: first come all the D call numbers, then all the DA call numbers, then DB, etc. |
 |
2. Next, look at Line 2: |
|
Within the DA call numbers, books are arranged in number order. The numbers are arranged in numerical from low to high. Example: |
 |
3. Then look at Line 3: |
|
Line 3 of the call number has a letter and a number. The letters are in alphabetical order. Then read the numbers—but BEWARE! The numbers are not whole numbers, they are DECIMAL numbers. Example: A55 is read as A .55—this is why A55 comes before A6 (A .55, A .6, A .65, etc.) |
 |