COMM 2338: Public Speaking: Articles & Databases

You can use Reference Databases to search for background information, to get good keywords, and to narrow and broaden your topic.

A good reference database that has a visual tool called a mind map, is Credo Reference. The mind map can also help you think of good keywords for searching for articles and books on your topic, as well as help you broaden or narrow your topic.

Here is a list of Nespaper Databases that have full text/full page image access. Here is the full list of Newspaper Databases. You can also check Primary Source Databases for full page image access to newspapers, periodicals, and other types of publications.

Databases by Subject

Communication And Journalism Databases

Look at the list of Communication Studies Databases for information about topics such as communication, speech, media, journalism, and rhetoric.

• Communication Source

• ComAbstracts

• AP Newsroom - current and historical events

History Databases

Check the list of History Databases too. They can give you articles that talk about the context of the time period.

Or you can try these Multi-Subject if your topic covers different subjects.  

• Academic Search
• JSTOR - Most articles are Scholarly.
• Project Muse

Multi-Subject

The library subscribes to over 400 databases and choosing one is the first step for successful searching. This is different than searching the world wide web since these are subscribed to by the library. You have access to them on campus and off campus with your NetID and password. You can choose a research database by Subject, by Name, or by Type.

For specific types of articles or resources such as Biographies, Film Reviews, or Timelines/Chronologies use the By Type drop down menu on the Research Databases page.

Or try searching our new Start Your Research tool! It searches multiple databases for articles and the library catalog for books and other materials. This tool can be good if your topic is cross-disciplinary and you are looking for different types of materials.

 

Try a database particular to your subject for more advanced research in your subject area by using the databases listed under By Subject.

Useful "By Type" Databases for your assignment:

• Speech Databases
• Biographies - you will need to choose one database to search from the list. These 2 may be good to start with:

  • American National Biography

  • Biography in Context

• Primary Sources - Historical -This list contains primary source document databases from different subjects and historical newspaper databases. Historical newspaper articles, photographs, editorials, ads, etc. are considered primary source documents and are great for reconstructing the context of a particular time. This also contains Speeches.

  • Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 - great example of a primary source database

• Timelines - Chronologies

• Pro Con Issues - Hot Topics - Here are a couple that are very good at browsing and searching for both sides of a controversial topic:

  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context

• Streaming Video Databases - when you search the library catalog or Start Your Research (pictured above) a lot of videos in these streaming databases will come up in your search results. If you don't find what you want check the individual streaming databases.

• Newspaper Databases

 

Advanced Research Resources

Dissertations & Theses can also help you find in depth context and perspective on an issue.

• Dissertations & Theses Global (Expanded)

• Digital Collections @TxState - search for dissertations and theses from Texas State as well as faculty research. If you don't find it here you may want to check the library catalog. Not all Texas State Dissertations and These are online.

Web of Science - find highest times cited articles on your topics

WorldCat

• Indexes items owned by libraries throughout the U.S. and parts of the world. Shows which items we own. Direct link to request items we don't own via interlibrary loan.