Related Call Number Areas
PN1992 Television (history, theory, individual shows, writing for television)
PN1993 Film journals
PN1993.5 Film histoy
PN1994-1995 Film theory and appreciation
PN1995.9 Films by special topics (e.g., detective films, film noir, war films, etc.)
PN1996 Screenplay writing
PN1997 Screenplays
PN1998 Directors (biographies and criticism)
PN2000-2900 Actors and actresses (biographies and studies)
| Interlibrary Loan - TexShare |
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ILL is a free library lending service available to current TxState students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that the Alkek Library does not own. Use ILLIAD, the online interlibrary loan request system, to order your ILL items. Typical turnaround for a book is 1-2 weeks and must be picked up at and returned to the library. Articles are sent to requestors via email.
Contact & Pick-up Info: 512.408.3996 or email. Items can be picked up at the Ask Alkek Desk on the 2nd floor of the Library.
- TexShareA TexShare card is free for all current Texas State students and employees and provides borrowing privileges at participating libraries.
Library Catalog
- Library CatalogThe Library Catalog is like a store catalog - it's a list of items available at the University Libraries. Use the Library Catalog to search for print resources, multimedia resources, and ebooks. The Library Catalog also provides location and availability details. The library catalog is a type of database, so you can use the same search strategies you would use in a database, including "phrase searching," Boolean operators, and truncation.
- Start Your ResearchBooks, eBooks, and multimedia can also be searched using Start Your Research by limiting a search to Library Catalog.
- Google BooksSearches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition (OCR), and stored in its digital database. Books are provided either by publishers and authors or by Google's library partners through the Library Project. Additionally, Google has partnered with a number of magazine publishers to digitize their archives.
- WorldCatIndexes items owned by libraries throughout the U.S. and internationally. Items not owned by Texas State may be requestable via interlibrary loan.
Related Books
Undergraduate Research in Film: A Guide for Students
Awake in the Dark: An Anthology of American Film Criticism
Bloomsbury Film and Media Studies Collection
Cinema Studies: the Key Concepts
Classic Cinema: Essays in Criticism
Critical Focus: An Introduction to Film
Directors and their Films
Encyclopedia of Novels into Film
Film as Film: Understanding and Judging Movies
Film Genre: Theory and Criticism
Film Quarterly: Forty Years
Film Review Annual
Films by Genre
Encyclopedia of Great Movies
Guide to Critical Reviews
History of the American Cinema
New York Times Film Reviews 1970-2002
New York Times Encyclopedia of Film
Primal Screen: Essays on Film and Related Subjects
Screen Arts: A Guide to Film and Television Appreciation
Seeing through Movies
Indices
Print indexes provide citations to articles. You'll need to use the Catalog or Periodicals list in conjunction to check to see if we have a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper.
Critical Index: A Bibliography of Articles on Film in English, 1946-1973