Evaluating Web Pages
CHECKLIST FOR EVALUATING A WEB PAGE:
* Identify the author and the author's expertise on the topic.
* Verify the facts, statistics, or quotes on the web page in another source.
* Identify the agenda of the page: are they selling something or promoting a point-of-view that benefits them?
* Check to see when the page was last updated. If you can't find a date, consider using a different source.
DO THE ABOVE BECAUSE:
* Most people don't know what they are talking about.
* Many people will make up facts, misrepresent facts, or leave out facts in order to support their position.
* People will tell you anything if money or power is somehow involved.
AND IN THE END:
* Learn to think for yourself and do not rely on gathering other people's opinions posted on the internet.
Subject Guide
Websites with Fashion and Culture Resources
Global Fashion Resources/Sites
The Fashion History Timeline is an open-access source for fashion history knowledge, featuring objects and artworks from over a hundred museums and libraries that span the globe. The Timeline website offers well-researched, accessibly written entries on specific artworks, garments and films for those interested in fashion and dress history.
Ukraine
- This is the official website about Ukraine:
- Modern Ukrainian fashion industry:
Ukrainian fashion (ukraine.ua)
- About modern Ukrainian music:
- About Ukrainian cuisine:
Ukrainian cuisine (ukraine.ua)
- About Ukrainian Christmas traditions:
Ukrainian Christmas traditions (ukraine.ua) and much more.
- You can get acquainted with an authentic Ukrainian costume on the following sites:
Ukrainian Institute of Fashion History (uifh.org)
Музейні колекції | Ivan Honchar Museum
- Resources about sustainable fashion in Ukraine:
BE SUSTAINABLE! Fashion Summit took place in Ukraine for the third time | Ukrainian Fashion Week
Fashionable Ukraine: Introduction to Key Designers and Brands | UACRISIS.ORG
4 Sustainable Fashion Designers To Watch | Ukrainian Fashion Week (luxiders.com)
Saudi Arabia
-
Business of fashion in Saudi Arabia - sign up for a free subscription and get some limited access
Podcasts:
https://shows.acast.com/6355d904dd5e0e0012da88d1/64955e9166f8a20011805a72
https://shows.acast.com/6355d904dd5e0e0012da88d1/6675979da4ecc300124af8b1
-
Related articles:
https://www.businessoffashion.com/people/amy-roko/
https://www.businessoffashion.com/news/global-markets/prettylittlething-lauches-in-saudi-arabia/
https://www.businessoffashion.com/articles/retail/pilgrim-retail-saudi-arabia-hajj-mecca-jeddah/
-
Related articles:
https://www.businessoffashion.com/articles/global-markets/ukraine-kiev-fashion-days/
Digital Fashion & Costume Collections
- Cashin (Bonnie) Collection of Fashion, Theater and Film Costume Design, 1913-2000The collection contains Bonnie Cashin's personal archive documenting her design career. The collection includes Cashin's design illustrations, writings on design, contractual paperwork, photographs of her clothing designs, and press materials including press releases and editorial coverage of her work.
- Drexel Digital Museum ProjectThe Drexel Digital Museum Project: Historic Costume Collection (digimuse) is a searchable image database comprised of selected fashion from the Robert and Penny Fox Historic Costume Collection (FHCC), designs loaned to the project by private collectors for inclusion on the website, fashion exhibitions curated by Drexel faculty and fashion research by faculty and students.
- Europeana CollectionsExplore fashion - historical clothing and accessories, contemporary designs, catwalk photographs, drawings, sketches, plates, catalogues and videos - from museums and archives across Europe.
- Fashion Institute of Technology MuseumThe museums permanent collection encompasses some 50,000 garments and accessories from the 18th century to the present.
- Houston Community College Fashion ArchiveThis is a free resource for fashion design and research featuring historical garments and accessories from the 1740s to the 2000s with a Texas emphasis. The Houston Community College Fashion Archive is a fragment of the total collection maintained by the Houston Community College Fashion Department and is digitally created and maintained by Houston Community College Libraries.
- The Metropolitan Museum of Art - Costume InstituteTexts and images from the collections of the Costume Institute and the Irene Lewisohn Costume Reference Library at The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Please note that access to some material in this collection is restricted to computers within The Metropolitan Museum of Art.
- We Wear CultureExplore collections from around the world with Google Arts & Culture, created by Google Cultural Institute.
- Valentino Garavani MuseumValentino Garavani, legendary fashion designer, has defined a unique world of couture for almost half a century. Now his achievement takes radical new form, in keeping with the creative traditions of the house: THE VALENTINO GARAVANI VIRTUAL MUSEUM.
Fashion Drawings Digital Collections
- André Studios 1930-1941: Fashion Drawings & SketchesFashion Drawings & Sketches in the Collections of FIT and the New York Public Library.
- Fashion Plates - Digital Collections of the Los Angeles Public LibraryOver 6,200 hand-colored, finely detailed fashion illustrations produced between 1780 and 1880 for British and American fashion magazines. The plates depict fashionable styles of dress for men, women and children, and constitute valuable source material on the history of dress during this period in history.
Textile Collections
- Art Institute ChicagoThe Department of Textile's collection consists of more than 13,500 objects ranging in date from 300 BC to the present.
- Henry Art Gallery - Embroidery Stitch Identification GuideThe Embroidery Stitch Identification Guide presents a standardized nomenclature and classification system for embroidery stitches based on seven structural and three usage categories. The goal is to provide consistent nomenclature for designers, ethnographers, textile historians, curators, and others who wish to identify embroidery stitches or create embroidered textiles.
- vads - Goldsmiths Textile CollectionThe Collection is used by a wide variety of researchers from different disciplines, including visual arts, anthropology, history and design. Students, academic staff and researchers, both from within Goldsmiths and outside, together with members of the public use the Collection.