College of Fine Arts and Communication Liaison Librarian, Open Licenses Librarian
Streaming Video Resources
-
Films on Demand: Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Educational, close-captioned videos to help prepare future allied health professionals for practice across a diverse range of health care settings.
Finding Playscripts FAQs
-
PlayscriptsThis is the magic link to see all playscripts cataloged by University Libraries and the locations of where to find them. It is the subject heading link for Playscripts in the library catalog. You can see it on the page of any of these plays as a button that says "playscripts":
Where are the print plays, playscripts, and screenplays located in the library building? Currently most plays, playscripts, and screenplays are shelved in the library's general collection on the 6th floor and are available for check-out. Occasionally rare or special copies will be in the 7th floor Wittliff Collections Reading Room.
How do I figure out where they are on the shelves?
Be sure to check the Library Catalog for exact call numbers and locations for printed plays, playscripts, and screenplays.
Do you have online copies?
Alkek Library has online copies of plays and playscripts in several databases. See the list on this page for links to these databases.
I can't find a play when I search by the title! Does that mean we don't have it?Sometimes plays are published in a magazine or in a book collection. Use an index (either print or online) to locate these plays. If you still can't find it, you can use Interlibrary Loan or your TexShare card to get a copy from a different library.
Play Indexes & Databases
Some plays are published in collections or magazines, and not in single volumes. These indexes indicate the collection or magazine where the text of a certain play is published. Click on the links below to access databases or check for location information.
Print Indexes:
- Drury's Guide to Best Plays
- Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections
- The drama scholars' index to plays and filmscripts: a guide to plays and filmscripts in selected anthologies, series, and periodicals.
Online Databases & eBooks:
-
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Classical works to contemporary plays combined with critical analysis, contextual information, biographies, genres and Nick Hern books.
-
Inter-Play This link opens in a new windowLocates plays in collections, anthologies, & periodicals. Use the catalog to see if the library owns the book or periodical. Renaissance times to the present.
-
Literature Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowEnglish & American poetry, prose and drama from the 8th century to the present day plus journals, criticism & reference resources on authors and their works.
-
Twentieth Century Drama This link opens in a new window
Plays from the English-speaking world, including under-represented theater traditions such as radical theater, women's theater, regional, national & ethnic theatrical traditions. 1890s to present.
Databases for Criticism & Reviews
See also the entire Theater & Performing Arts database list, the Newspaper databases, and possibly the Literature and Language databases for more search options.
-
Bloomsbury and Faber Screenplays and Criticism This link opens in a new window
Screenplays in industry-standard studio format, critical and contextual books on cinema, and techniques for film-making and screenwriting. Not all titles are availble or use on this site. Please check the catalog for other access options or request via InterLibrary Loan.
-
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes reviews, critical analysis, film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, and technical aspect. 1914 to present.
-
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Information about and criticisms of authors, novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers. Includes several major Gale publications such as Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Contemporary Authors. Current.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This version provides links to TXST resources. Searches scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports.
-
Humanities Source and Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Encompasses all key fields of the humanities. Includes articles, interviews, obituaries, original works of fiction, drama, poetry, and reviews. Indexing from 1900, full text from 1909 to present.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books. Access begins with the first volume for many journal titles, but usually does not have the newest volumes of each journal. To try out AI tools in JSTOR, login using your personal JSTOR account and visit the FAQs to learn more.
-
Literature Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowEnglish & American poetry, prose and drama from the 8th century to the present day plus journals, criticism & reference resources on authors and their works.
-
MLA International BibliographyContains article citations from scholarly journals, chapters of books, and dissertations. Our provider for MLA is EbscoHost. Although MLA does not include the full-text of articles, it does link to the articles if it is available in another EbscoHost database that we provide access.
-
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Journals and ebooks from major university presses on literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.