BFA Acting FULL COMPANY

Where are the print plays, playscripts, and screenplays located in the library building? Currently most plays, playscripts, and screenplays are shelved in the library's general collection on the 6th floor and are available for check-out. Occasionally rare or special copies will be in the 7th floor Wittliff Collections Reading Room.

How do I figure out where they are on the shelves?
Be sure to check the Library Catalog for exact call numbers and locations for printed plays, playscripts, and screenplays.

Do you have online copies?
Alkek Library has online copies of plays and playscripts in several databases.  See the list on this page for links to these databases.

I can't find a play when I search by the title! Does that mean we don't have it?Sometimes plays are published in a magazine or in a book collection.  Use an index (either print or online) to locate these plays.  If you still can't find it, you can use Interlibrary Loan or your TexShare card to get a copy from a different library. 

For opera/musical librettos: enter the title of the opera/musical in the online Library Catalog. Librettos in our collection reside at the Alkek Library location. You might also try entering the keyword "libretto."

Some plays are published in collections or magazines, and not in single volumes. These indexes indicate the collection or magazine where the text of a certain play is published. Click on the links below to access databases or check for location information.

Print Indexes:

• Drury's Guide to Best Plays
• Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections
• The drama scholars' index to plays and filmscripts: a guide to plays and filmscripts in selected anthologies, series, and periodicals.

Online Databases & eBooks:

See also the entire Theater & Performing Arts database list, the Newspaper databases, and possibly the Literature and Language databases for more search options.