It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sociology: Suggested Databases
This subject guide supports basic and advanced research in Sociology related topics.
Multi-subject resources from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities & other scholarly organizations. More about Google Scholar at Google Scholar Guide
Dates vary. Click Recent Articles for most current.
Data & Statistics Databases
ICPSRVast archive of social science data. Can use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, & Stata. Thematic categories include census data, community & urban studies, conflict, aggression, economic behavior, education, leadership, geography, health care, legal systems, mass political behavior, and organizational behavior.
Data sets from 1962 to present.
SimplyAnalytics *** previously SimplyMap****Extensive demographic, business and marketing data from sources such as census data from 2000 and 2010,Current Estimates, Five Year Projections, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL® and Nielsen Claritas PRIZM® Data Packages.
Data Citation IndexPart of the Web of Knowledge, the Data Citation Index fully indexes a significant number of the world's leading data repositories of critical interest to the scientific community, including over two million data studies and datasets.
Pew Research Center Data SetsThe Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. They make their collected data available to the public for secondary analysis after a period of time. Find a dataset by research area: U.S. Politics & Policy; Journalism & Media; Internet, Science & Tech; Religion & Public Life; Hispanic Trends; Global Attitudes & Trends; Social & Demographic Trends; American Trends Panel Methodology. Data is released approximately 2 years after reports are published.
NCES Data ToolsAn extensive array of data by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. In addition to the Data Tools, explore the menu to find additional resources, including IPEDS. Coverage varies.
Dissertations & Theses
Dissertations can be very useful for research. Search this database to find relevant dissertations and theses:
Dissertations & Theses GlobalMulti-subject. World's largest collection of full text theses and dissertations. Contains 1.7 million full-text graduate works and 3.8 million abstracted or indexed records along with the ability to cross-search with other ProQuest resources.
1861 to present
OpenDissertationsMultidisciplinary. The only comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities originally printed by H.W. Wilson Co. as the index Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities. This reproduction provides full page images of the original print index, and may be searched by author, title, subject and university.
All databases come from the SociologyDatabases by Subject page.
Social Gerontology Research, Sociology, Social Work, Psychology, Economics, Public Policy, and Health Sciences. This index focuses exclusively on issues of aging and the population of people aged 50 years and older.
Coverage: 1978 to the present, with selected coverage from 1966-1977
Anthropology, community health and medicine, economics, environmental sciences, geography, international relations, law and criminology, police science, planning & public administration, psychology, psychiatry, political science, sociology, & social work.
Indexing, 1983 to present. Selected full text, 1994 to present.-
The Index is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Subject index to over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals.
Coverage: 1969 to present
Multicultural and Gender Studies. Archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community.
Peace analysis including conflict resolution, nonviolence, war, international affairs and peace psychology. This is an index to government documents, books, and journal articles from important sources like Journal of Peace Research, Journal of Conflict Resolution, and International Journal of Refugee Law.
1964 to present
Primary Source Databases
African American ExperienceAfrican American history & culture from its African origins to the present day. It encompasses the myriad contributions of individuals from the African American community who have achieved prominence in the arts, entertainment, the sciences, business, the military, and politics as well as nameless others who endured the travails of slavery and institutionalized discrimination. Contains over 8,000 primary documents, including slave narratives, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, statistics, 1,500 photographs, maps, and other images.
Coverage: Late 1700s to present
American Indian ExperienceThesis-driven, peer-reviewed scholarly essays on American Indian history, culture and politics from precontact to the colonial era into the 21st century, and from the Inuit of Alaska to the Seminole of Florida. Content includes hundreds of primary documents and media, including treaties, speeches, captivity narratives, traditional storytelling, maps, photographs, and video.
Coverage: Prehistory - present
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part ICovers topics including LGBTQ activism and the HIV/AIDS crisis and provides researchers with the documents necessary to delve deep into the Gay Rights Movement with resources that may otherwise go undiscovered. Repositories for this collection include: Lesbian Herstory Educational Foundation; Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives; Women's Energy Bank; GLBT Historical Society; National Library of Medicine; among other archives.
Coverage: 1940 to 2014, with the bulk from 1950 to 1990
Defining Gender, 1450-1910British culture and society. History, literature, sociology and education from a gendered and perspective. Key topics include conduct and politeness, domesticity & the family, consumption & leisure, education & sensibility, and the body.
Latin American Open Archives PortalScholarly Latin American cultural, historical and social research published by research institutes, non-governmental organizations, and peripheral agencies that are not controlled by commercial publishers. The portal is from the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project - LARRP, in collaboration with the Latin American Network Information Center - LANIC, to improve access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America.
Race Relations in AmericaThe Race Relations Department and its annual Institute, based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict. This is a collection of their work which documents three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights in America through the eyes and work of sociologists, activists, psychologists, teachers, ministers, students and housewives. 1928-1976.
Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974History, society, culture, and politics of the U.S.A. in the 1960s. Diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary provide insight to the issues of the time - Civil Rights; Counter-Culture; Environmental Movement; Gay and Lesbian Rights; Law and Government; Mass Media; New Left and Emerging Neo-Conservative Movement; Science and Technology; Student Activism; Vietnam War; and Women’s Movement.