It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Film Criticism: Articles & Databases
A guide to Film Criticism resources at Alkek Library.
Combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
1916 to present
Start Your Research is a way you can search journal articles, magazines, newspaper articles, books, and media across several different databases including the library's catalog. It may be a good choice if you are looking for articles on recent films and if you are just beginning your search.
Important note: Don't forget that there are about 600 other databases that you can use that might not be represented in Start Your Research.
Area studies, theology, religion, performing arts, literary & political criticism, language & literature, music, philosophy, history, and classical studies, area studies, art, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, and journalism.
Indexing from 1907, full text from 1942 to present
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.