Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Determining Copyright Ownership
Sometimes it is unclear who owns the copyright of a work. This is particularly true to images such as photographs. The U.S. Copyright Office provides advice on searching for the copyright status of a work as well as who owns the copyright in Circular 22 and Circular 23.
Harry Ransom Center's Guide to Obtaining Permission
AcqWeb's Directory of Publishers and Vendors (Last updated in 2004)
Copylaw.com - How to get Permission.
A Guide to Music Clearances and Permissions by Monica Corton
Books on Obtaining Copyright Permissions
Getting Permission by
Publication Date: 2010-10-21
Whether creating a web site, an anthology, or materials for a class, artists and educators of every stripe need to copyright. People who plan to use any copyrighted material for their own purposes need to get permission first from the owners of that work. If they don’t, they could find themselves face to face with a lawsuit. Getting Permission, written by intellectual property expert Attorney Rich Stim, tackles the permissions process head on, explaining when authorization for the use of copyrighted materials is needed. It shines the light on who to ask for permission, as well as whenand how muchto expect to pay for permission. Comprehensive and easy to read, the book covers: the permissions processincluding authorization to use text, photographs, artwork and music - the public domain - copyright research - fair us - academic permissions - the elements of a license and merchandise agreement - the use of a trademark or fictional character - and much more. This cutting-edge book, the only one on the market to cover web site permission, includes agreements for acquiring authorization to use text, photographs, artwork and music. It also provides information for web site owners, such as hyper-linking agreements and Internet research suggestions. A must for the new millennium, Getting Permission will help readers obtain rights, permissions and clearanceand stay out of legal hot water. All agreements included as tear-outs and on disk.
Clearance and Copyright by
Publication Date: 2008-08-01
Now extensively revised, updated, and expanded, "Clearance and Copyright" is the industry-standard guide to almost every conceivable rights issue that filmmakers, video-makers, and television producers might encounter: from the initial acquisition of material through the rights situations that arise during pre-production, production, post-production and release. Legalese-free, well-written, it's a must-read for all producers, directors, and writers -- whether they make feature films, shorts, documentaries, television programs, music videos, or Internet content -- and those who advise them. Armed with this book, you can protect yourself and your work from disastrous legal actions and save thousands of dollars in attorney fees. You can even learn how to save money by exercising your rights to use certain materials without paying anyone.
The Copyright Permission and Libel Handbook by
Publication Date: 1998-01-19
"A thoughtful, comprehensive, and invaluable guide for writers."--Bernard Lefkowitz, Professor, Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism "Easy to read and understand . . . should be on every publisher's reference shelf."--Jan Nathan, Executive Director, Publishers Marketing Association For anyone who has ever faced the confusing web of copyright and libel laws, this practical, problem-solving guide is a godsend. In clear, jargon-free language, legal experts provide the information and techniques you need to prepare a manuscript or multimedia work for publication. You'll learn how to: * Clear rights for all types of copyrighted materials, including quotations, photographs, fine art, motion picture stills, song lyrics, and more * Protect yourself against libel suits * Determine if a work is in the public domain * Assess if quoting without permission qualifies as fair use * Locate rights holders * Negotiate clearances Includes library of sample forms: * permission letter * interview release * model release * work-made-for-hire agreement * copyright assignment * photograph license
Obtaining Permission to Use a Work
Permission from copyright holders is often needed when creating course materials, research papers, and Web sites. You need to obtain permission when you use a work in a way that infringes on the exclusive rights granted to a copyright holder, i.e., reproducing part or all of a copyrighted work outside the boundaries of acceptable fair use. The following is a step-by-step guide to aid you in planning strategies to obtain permission to use copyrighted works for educational purposes.
- Circular 22: How to Investigate the Copyright Status of a Work. U.S. Copyright Office.
- Identifying the Copyright Owner. Copyright Advisory Office, Columbia University.
- Locating U.S. Copyright Holders. WATCH File (Writers, Artists, and Their Copyright Holders). The Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, University of Texas at Austin and the University of Reading.
- Licensing and Rights Agencies. Center for Intellectual Property, University of Maryland University College (UMUC). Includes links to licensing and rights management agencies.
- Locating Copyright Owners. CopyLaw.com. Law Offices of Lloyd J. Jassin. List of organizations and web sites that assist the researcher to identify and locate copyright holders.
- Collective Licensing Agencies. Copyright Advisory Office, Columbia University. List of collective rights organizations that can grant permission online.
- WATCH File (Writers, Artists, and Their Copyright Holders). The Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, University of Texas at Austin and the University of Reading offers a database that provides information about whom to contact for permission to publish copyprotected text and images.
Sample model permission letters from other universities:
These sample letters should be reviewed and modified to fit the specifics of your request. Your letter should provide complete and accurate information and include a self-addressed stamped envelope to expedite the permission process. For more information on what types of information to include in your permission letter, see UC Policy and Guidelines on the Reproduction of Copyrighted Materials for Teaching and Research, Appendix 2.
- Sample permission letters. Copyright Advisory Office, Columbia University. Includes overview and lists of sample model letters for different types of uses and material.
- Sample written request for permission. Office of General Counsel, University of Texas System. A simple, general-purpose model permissions letter
Model Permission Form Letters from Columbia University.
Stanford Copyright and Fair Use Center - Basics of Getting Permission.
Vassar College Guide to Asking for Permission.
List of Collective Licensing Agencies from Columbia Universtiy.
Citizen Media Guide to Obtaining Permission.
DLib Magazine Article on Obtaining Permission.
guide is designed to share information on copyright and related topics.
This guide does not supply legal advice nor is it intended to replace
the advice of legal counsel.