Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What does getting published have to do with copyright?
Considering having an article published in a journal?
Take a look at this video and see also the "Author's Rights" tab on this guide for further information.
Kevin Smith, former Scholarly Communication Officer at Duke University, frequently blogged on topics that are relevant to faculty authors, like this "Breaking Technology" posting. See other postings in the RSS feed below.
Copyright and Course Sites
Posting an item to Canvas (course management software) does not exempt an instructor from copyright regulations.
Please contact Stephanie Towery, the Copyright Officer, to discuss copyright issues related to materials used in course sites.
Following are useful resources pertaining to copyright
The American Library Association’s Fair Use Evaluator: http://librarycopyright.net/fairuse/ A web form that you can use to create a date-stamped fair use evaluation for your personal records
The American Library Association’s Digital Copyright Slider: http://librarycopyright.net/digitalslider/ A resource that you can use to determine copyright by date of the work.
guide is designed to share information on copyright and related topics.
This guide does not supply legal advice nor is it intended to replace
the advice of legal counsel.
Due to the complexities of copyright, it is extremely difficult to create one resource or answer that addresses all situations. Generally speaking, however, you should ask yourself the following questions:
- What is the format, my intended use of the format, and the amount that I wish to use?
- Will the amounts permitted in Section 107 (fair use) meet my needs? (See "Fair Use" tab above for more information)
- If not, will the limits outlined in Section 110 meet my needs?
- Should I contact the publisher directly and request permission to use the material?
Seeking Permissions: Once you have identified the materials you want to use and determined that copyright permission is required, you must identify the copyright holder and secure permission to use their work. A good explanation of the steps for securing permission for copyrighted works may be found on Columbia University’s Copyright Advisory Office website. Provides direction for obtaining permission for many different types of materials.
The WATCH database provides copyright contacts for many writers, artists, and prominent people in other creative fields. It is a joint project of the University of Texas Harry Ransom Center and University of Reading Library in England.
Alkek Library Faculty Resources
Applying fair use in higher education: special report for college and university educators and administrators
Call Number: Electronic Book
Provides an introduction to current copyright laws for college and university administrators and educators, and presents guidelines for performing a fair-use analysis.
Partial Contents: Copyright law basics -- Why fair use is so challenging -- Two big mistakes some instructors make (but you won't) -- The advantages fair use offers educators -- 10 helpful rules of thumb for performing a fair-use analysis -- The fair-use text from the Copyright Act -- Fair-use analyses from six important court cases involving: downloading music, photocopying student coursepacks, using another teacher's published instruction booklet, distributing taped TV shows for classroom use, screening student papers for plagiarism, and using real questions from an official test as exam prep -- The different legal rules that apply to state colleges and universities
Copyright Essentials For Faculty
Call Number: KIT KF2995 .C594 2010
Kit includes web conference materials.
Kevin Smith, JD (Duke University) and Steven McDonald (Rhode Island School of Design) discuss uses of copyrighted materials in the classroom setting; including using materials without obtaining permission (fair use); adjustments that are needed to move face-to-face classes online; copyright in the virtual classroom: The Teach Act; opportunities and risks posed by commercial social media sites; and using course management systems and social media for teaching.
Contents Session 1. Copyright for classroom teaching -- Session 2. Copyright regulation outside the classroom -- Session 3. Faculty rights under copyright law.
Copyright Law for Librarians and Educators by
Call Number: KF2995 .C74 2012
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
The copyright path : changing needs and copyright solutions -- The scope of protectable works -- Works without copyright protection -- Duration and formalities : how long do copyrights last? -- Who owns the copyright? -- The rights of copyright owners -- Exceptions to the rights of owners -- Fair use : getting started -- Fair use : understanding the four factors -- Getting comfortable with fair use : applying the four factors -- The meaning of fair use guidelines -- Distance education and the TEACH Act -- Libraries and the special provisions of Section 108 -- Responsibilities, liabilities, and doing the right thing -- Music and copyright -- Anticircumvention and the DMCA -- Copyright, archives, and unpublished materials -- Permission from copyright owners.
Fair Use, Free Use and Use by Permission by
Call Number: General Collection, Floor 6 KF2995 .W477 2005
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
Finally, a plain-language guide that explains the rules of using copyrighted images, music, and words! Readers will find the answers to questions about when they need permission, what constitutes fair use, how to get permission, and when they can use work without permission. Also, how to protect work if someone wants permission to use it, and much more.
Scholarship in the Digital Age by
Call Number: General Collection, Floor 5 AZ195 .B67 2007 (Also Available as ebook)
Publication Date: 2007-10-12
Discusses many important issues related to digital scholarship, including copyright considerations.
Other Blogs related to Scholarly Communications
Legal Guide to Podcasting