Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
guide is designed to share information on copyright and related topics.
This guide does not supply legal advice nor is it intended to replace
the advice of legal counsel.
Sources for Public Domain Materials
Resources for Reuse
Locate resources and license your creations. With a Creative Commons license, you keep your copyright but allow others to copy and distribute your work provided they give you credit and follow the conditions you specify.
Image databases at Texas State
Access over 30 databases Texas State subscribes to that are mostly images.
NOTE: Some of these database restrict by license how the images can be used. Please review the database information carefully for your intended use.
Access video, audio and images. Almost all images are under some type of free license. Click on an image to see the information page for that image.
Photos for Class
This website automatically attributes the Creative Commons image upon download
Images and video. You can also search by Creative Commons license.
Limit your search by Creative Commons license.
Images can be used without attribution; no stand-alone use (images cannot be able to be downloaded independent of context)
All images on site are governed by the Free Art License.
Music with Creative Commons licenses
Creative Commons music
Creative commons site for sounds (sound effects)
Downloadable images, movies, text, Music, and more.
Images and video (uploaded under CC0 - dedicated to the public domain)
Royalty free sound effects
Nappy (Beautiful, high-res photos of black and brown people. For free.)
License (from nappy):
All photos posted on nappy are licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license so feel free to do your thing. That means you can download these photos, modify them, share them, distribute them, or use them for whatever you want for free. In fact, we encourage it. The more you use them, the more we’re helping improve the representation of black and brown people in media.
You do not need permission nor do you need to give photo cred when using these photos, however, we strongly recommend it. Use the format below to give photo cred:
i.e. Photo by @username from nappy.co (replace @username with the photographer’s username found on the photo page).
You should refrain from reselling these photos, re-posting on other stock photo website/services, or using these photos to degrade or insult its subjects.
Licensed CC BY 2.0 - attribute to WOCinTech Chat or wocintechchat.com
Jopwell Collection: Intern Edition
License (from Jopwell):
These photos are able to be copied, distributed, and displayed freely as long as you include a visible attribution to Jopwell.com or Jopwell.
The Gender Spectrum Collection: Stock Photos Beyond the Binary
License (from Broadly):
CC BY-NC-ND 4.0
All of the photos in the Gender Spectrum Collection were taken by Zackary Drucker. Please credit The Gender Spectrum Collection in your captions.
Licenses vary - some are CC0, some are under general Burst license similar to CC0:
This Photo (“Licensed Photo”) is made available for use under a nonexclusive license (“License”) to download, copy, modify, distribute, perform, display and use in accordance with this License and the Burst Terms of Service. You are free to adapt and use this Licensed Photo for free for commercial and noncommercial purposes. You do not need to provide attribution to the photographer, Shopify or Burst, although Shopify and Burst encourage you to attribute the photographer whenever possible. You may not compile Licensed Photos to replicate a service similar to or competing with Burst.
You agree not to download, copy, modify, distribute, perform, display and/or use this Licensed Photo unless you comply with the License and the Burst Terms of Service
Mid-Atlantic Herbaria Consortium
Images within this website have been generously contributed by their owners to promote education and research. These contributors retain the full copyright for their images. Unless stated otherwise, images are made available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike (CC BY-SA) Users are allowed to copy, transmit, reuse, and/or adapt content, as long as attribution regarding the source of the content is made. If the content is altered, transformed, or enhanced, it may be re-distributed only under the same or similar license by which it was acquired.