Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases and Online resources
Other Online Resources:
These resources are all from government sources.
- Career OneStop - easy-to-use U.S. Labor Department site provides information about career exploration, employment trends, self assessment, and tips for getting and keeping jobs.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook - locate careers in this resource to find descriptive information about a career and to find projections about future growth in the field and salary estimates. A print copy of this publication is also available in the Library.
- Occupational Outlook Quarterly - provides practical information for job-seekers, including search tips, salary information, and descriptions of unusual occupations.
- O*NET Online - find information on skills, abilities, knowledges, work activities, and interests associated with over 950 occupations.
Finding a job
- MakingtheDifference - a joint initiative between the Partnership for Public Service and the U.S. Office of Personnel Management (OPM), is dedicated to helping students learn more about careers in the federal government.
- StudentJobs.gov - provides information about student employment and internships in the federal government. In addition to searching for jobs, students can also create a profile to receive news of job postings or build a resume. Site is sponsored by the Office of Personnel Management
- USAJOBS - sponsored by the U.S. Office of Personnel Management, this site is the official one-stop source for federal job and employment information. Site includes a federal resume builder.
- WorkInTexas - sponsored by the Texas Workforce Commission, site provides information for Texas jobseekers.
Salary and benefit resources
- Davis-Bacon Wage Determination - database containing wage determinations issued by the Department of Labor under the Davis-Bacon and related Acts by county. The Wage and Hour Division of the Labor Department determines prevailing wage rates to be paid on federally funded construction projects.
- National Compensation Survey - find average salaries or benefit information for different occupations by geographic region. For example, see average salaries for different types of work for Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos (from the Bureau of Labor Statistics).
- Social Security Handbook - answers common questions about the Social Security program
Selected Books and eBooks
To find other related books in the catalog, use these subject searches:
Police -- Vocational guidance
Law enforcement -- Vocational guidance
Criminal justice, Administration of -- Vocational guidance