Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Government and Public Administration is a 23 minute streaming video about employment at different government agencies. Check this video for information about working in this industry.
Selected library materials
Government Career Resources
Easy-to-use U.S. Labor Department site provides information about career exploration, employment trends, self assessment, and tips for getting and keeping jobs.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Locate careers in this resource to find descriptive information about a career and to find projections about future growth in the field and salary estimates.
Provides practical information for job-seekers, including search tips, salary information, and descriptions of unusual occupations.
Information on skills, abilities, knowledges, work activities, and interests associated with over 950 occupations.
A joint initiative between the Partnership for Public Service and the U.S. Office of Personnel Management (OPM), is dedicated to helping students learn more about careers in the federal government.
Sponsored by the U.S. Office of Personnel Management, this site is the official one-stop source for federal job and employment information. Site includes a federal resume builder.
USAJOBS Job Search
Provides search filters for jobs by hiring path, pay, departments, job series -- for example, jobs for students/recent graduates, veterans, etc.
Work In Texas
Sponsored by the Texas Workforce Commission, site provides information for Texas jobseekers.
Salary and Benefit Resources
Davis-Bacon Wage Determinations
Database containing wage determinations by county issued by the Department of Labor under the Davis-Bacon and related Acts. The Wage and Hour Division of the Labor Department determines prevailing wage rates to be paid on federally funded construction projects.
National Compensation Survey
Find average salaries or benefit information for different occupations by geographic region. For example, see average salaries for different types of work for Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos (from the Bureau of Labor Statistics).
Social Security Handbook
Answers common questions about the Social Security program
Additional non-governmental resources may be found on this career guide.
Ask A Librarian Service